Things i see...

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by saaid, 29 Nov 2011.

1. saaid

saaid

Hey peeps, I work in the fishing industry and as the season ends I now see more and more different fish being caught in the net. Sometimes a few weird ones too, I recently saw a tan color fish which was about 8-10mm round/thick but as long as my arm with a mouth probably the length of my forearm.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

As of late a lot of Rays and small Sharks came through, probably feeding.

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. ZaxXx

ZaxXx

Eish
    Dont you'll throw them back in? or are they all dead by then?

4. ZaxXx

ZaxXx

is that a shark laying upsidedown there?

Last edited: 29 Nov 2011
  5. SteveZi

SteveZi

I see Eagle ray, Maasbanker and Sardine
    What are they used for?
    those eagle rays are good jumpers - you have to cover the tank if you wanna keep one:whistling:

6. saaid

saaid Thread Starter

Depends on the size, these come off a Palegic vessel so its very difficult or rather say near impossible to get it out once caught.

7. saaid

saaid Thread Starter

Imagine keeping them :) It was a brown Shark yes, had leopard kind of pattern.

8. saaid

saaid Thread Starter

Sardine, Mackerel & Maasbanker is for bait export. Long liners brings in Hake, Kingklip etc.

9. SteveZi

SteveZi

How do they process the sharks, rays,catfish etc? for petfood?

those catfish taste better than most people would know...

10. saaid

saaid Thread Starter

We don't process those, goes on as waste sad to say.

11. SteveZi

SteveZi

that's a bummer man.

thanks for sharing your pics - keep your eyes open for strange things - the coelecanth was discovered this way.

12. saaid

saaid Thread Starter

That fish must be from the dark ages:eek:

13. seank

seank

I understand that this is your job and income, but still sad to see this happening, and I can only imagine how many of these creatures gets killed by man's greed. Sad, very sad. [​IMG]

14. ziyaadb