Testing T5 ballasts

scubaninja

Achilles Tang
Joined
20 Jul 2008
Posts
6,743
Reaction score
21
Location
Durban
Hey guys, how do we test these ballasts aside from actually connecting them to tubes? got a 39W dual ballast i need to test and i have got no globes, its pointless buying globes for a ballast that doesnt work
 

viper357

Admin
Joined
4 May 2007
Posts
29,844
Reaction score
1,384
You would have to load test it, best way would just to borrow some lamps to test.
No need to borrow lamps if you're doing the tongue test, just put a mirror in front of your face and see if your eyes light up.

Scuba, what about just using a couple of cheap 40w T8 tubes, they only cost about R15 each. Check on the top of the ballast, it should tell you what wattage T8's it will run.
 

HenkHugo

Copperband
Joined
10 May 2007
Posts
3,629
Reaction score
29
Location
Cape Town
ask kanga - he tested mine the other day... i hear his eyes still lightup every now and then :D
 

scubaninja

Achilles Tang
Joined
20 Jul 2008
Posts
6,743
Reaction score
21
Location
Durban
No need to borrow lamps if you're doing the tongue test, just put a mirror in front of your face and see if your eyes light up.Scuba, what about just using a couple of cheap 40w T8 tubes, they only cost about R15 each. Check on the top of the ballast, it should tell you what wattage T8's it will run.
Writing is faded;) dean did that one i got from you work? its the ballast in question
Posted via Mobile Device
 

animalia

Damsel
Joined
2 Jan 2009
Posts
357
Reaction score
5
Location
East Rand Gauteng
Test with a multimeter. If the needle moves or any reading are on the display (digital) there is power coming through -(for the faded writing) move the dial untill you get a reading (that is my way of testing - not an electrician)

A multimeter is not that expensive and there is always one lying next to the tank - to check if the pumps are working correctly - correct ligting - timers etc. There is always work for them. Just make sure your batteries in the multimeter are charged/new.

I really BITCH if mine goes MIA to the Garage or other place in the house with Hubby.
 

dallasg

Moderator
Joined
14 Dec 2008
Posts
16,850
Reaction score
613
Location
Sandton
Test with a multimeter. If the needle moves or any reading are on the display (digital) there is power coming through -(for the faded writing) move the dial untill you get a reading (that is my way of testing - not an electrician)

A multimeter is not that expensive and there is always one lying next to the tank - to check if the pumps are working correctly - correct ligting - timers etc. There is always work for them. Just make sure your batteries in the multimeter are charged/new.

I really BITCH if mine goes MIA to the Garage or other place in the house with Hubby.
if u doing it this way, always start at the highest setting then go lower
 

Similar threads


Top