Testing a T5 ballast

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by KevinW, 20 Jun 2007.

  1. KevinW

    KevinW

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    342
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Hillcrest
    Hi all,

    Can anyone tell me how to test a T5 ballast (Tridonic.Atco PC 2/39 T5 Pro lp - if that means anything to anyone!)? Case of it was working and was unplugged and stored for a few weeks and the lights do not come on now when I plugged it all in again.
    Thanks
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    have you made sure that all of the wires are connected properly to the terminals kevin?
     
  4. Afsal

    Afsal

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Dbn,Kzn
    yep thats the only way to test it and if its a dual ballast make sure u connect bolth bulbs !!! also if still not working , try another set of bulbs , bulbs can also be old/faulty
     
  5. Smithers

    Smithers

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    1,097
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Hillcrest
    Kev, try and push the wires into the ballast properly. If you need a hand I can pop in tonight.
     
  6. djmurray

    djmurray Email me about anything

    Joined:
    20 May 2007
    Posts:
    295
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it working yet?
     
  7. KevinW

    KevinW Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    342
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Hillcrest
    Hi all,

    Sorry for the lack of response - had to go earn some money today! I will check teh wiring again - in fact am planning to rewire all the lights anyway as my existing canopy is annoying me. Will post later/tomorrow about whether it worked or not. Essentially though then there is no way to test the ballast itself other then with trial and error with the wiring and bulbs?

    Cheers
    PS Smithers you are welcome to pop in
     
  8. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    cool keep us posted kevin.im sure alan or ej should know a way of testing the ballast?
     
  9. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    Is it true that a dual ballast will only work if both globes are connected and working ?
     
  10. lanzo

    lanzo Sponsor

    Joined:
    10 Sep 2007
    Posts:
    9,396
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Centurion
    don't know about working, but yes the current needs to go threw both
     
  11. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    So is there no way to test the outputs with a multimeter when connected to 220AC ?
     
  12. lanzo

    lanzo Sponsor

    Joined:
    10 Sep 2007
    Posts:
    9,396
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Centurion
    really don't know, but if theirs a will theirs a way.
     
  13. Lowflyer

    Lowflyer

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Slummies
    Kevin, a bit off topic, if you don't mind me asking, how much did you pay for that ballast, i'm also looking at getting a dual 39w T5 ballast and i've seen them for around R200 here
     
  14. HenkHugo

    HenkHugo

    Joined:
    10 May 2007
    Posts:
    3,629
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Cape Town
    LowFlyer the 54watt duel osram goes for R140 odd here in CPT
     
  15. Lowflyer

    Lowflyer

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Slummies
    Oh really, that's cheap, I wonder if I should rather order one from cape town, maybe buying and shipping will be cheeper for a 39w dual ballast than buying it here
     
  16. HenkHugo

    HenkHugo

    Joined:
    10 May 2007
    Posts:
    3,629
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Cape Town
    i have 4 or 5 duel 54s here for my 2.5 :p
     
  17. Lowflyer

    Lowflyer

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Slummies
    Show off, if i had a bigger room and more money I'd also have that, haha:razz:
     
  18. HenkHugo

    HenkHugo

    Joined:
    10 May 2007
    Posts:
    3,629
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Cape Town
    let me phone around tomorrow and see if i can s till get them at that price for you
     
  19. Lowflyer

    Lowflyer

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Slummies
    Shot, thanks so much, would really appreciate it
     
  20. bruce

    bruce

    Joined:
    19 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    slumies
    hey, could i maybe sneak in on it to. also need T5 ballast...luke maybe we can split the price on postage? why is everything always more expensive in slummies?
     
  21. HenkHugo

    HenkHugo

    Joined:
    10 May 2007
    Posts:
    3,629
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Cape Town
    what size?
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Testing ballast Forum Date
Testing T5 ballasts Lighting 4 Feb 2009
testing of CO2 regulator Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers 7 Jun 2016
Testing kits+Refractometer ► Sponsor Request Forum 13 May 2015
[wtd] Calcium Testing Kit Wanted 12 May 2015
Testing Strips Question Water Parameters and Additives 9 Dec 2014
Testing Kits Water Parameters and Additives 3 Sep 2014
Calibrate your testing equipment. General Discussions and Advice 14 Aug 2013