Temp Probe

Discussion in 'Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers' started by Warr7207, 7 Feb 2008.

  1. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    I need a Temperature probe that can activate a relay switch, doesn't need temp. adjustment can be set once, to 25° C

    Thanks in advanced.
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Bob the (reef)builder

    Bob the (reef)builder

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    1,779
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Joburg
    There is a bunch in Strydom park called Temperature controls. They have a range of things that will do the trick.
     
  4. Mike

    Mike Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    12 May 2007
    Posts:
    7,859
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    the Motherland
    Have a google for Habistat controllers - see if that is any good
     
  5. Warr7207

    Warr7207 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    Found a unit cost R1,500.00

    What do you guys think ?

    here is the specs:

    RKC – MICROPROCESSOR BASED DIGITAL TEMPERATURE CONTROLLER, WITH DUAL DIGITAL DISPLAY, SINGLE ALARM AND DIRECT ACTION.
    DIN SIZE : 48 X 48 MM
    INPUT : PT100
    OUTPUT : RELAY CONTACT
    ALARMS : SINGLE
    TEMP. RANGE : -199.9 TO 649°C
    SUPPLY : 85 – 264 AC



    MINERAL INSULATED 3-WIRE SIMPLEX PT100 RESISTANCE TEMPERATURE DETECTOR, COMPLETE WITH
    2 METER TEFLON INSULATED TAILS AND ½” NPT BRASS ADJUSTABLE COMPRESSION FITTING.
    PART NO. : LR22-50FM(100)C-2000T-4F4B
    SHEATH LENGTH : 50 MM
    SHEATH DIAMETER : 6 MM
    SHEATH MATERIAL : 316 STAINLESS STEEL


     
  6. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,983
    Likes Received:
    777
    I would be a bit wary with it having such a broad temperature range. Does it say how accurate it is, i.e. to 1.0 degree or 0.1 degrees?

    Also does it display 25 degrees or 25.7 degrees?
     
  7. Warr7207

    Warr7207 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    You can adjust in 0.5 degree increments.
     
  8. Reef Maniac

    Reef Maniac MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    15 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,899
    Likes Received:
    112
    Location:
    Bloemfontein
    Check out the units I described in this thread. If you're interested I can get it for you :)

    Not sure of the latest price, but my unit, with 2 controller relays, alarm output, AND RS485 computer communication capability and a hastaloy covered probe was about the same price as your quote - a lesser spec unit would be a few hundred rand cheaper...

    Hennie
     
  9. Boomslang

    Boomslang

    Joined:
    25 Jun 2007
    Posts:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    My controllers I build go for around R1500, and have allot of other features as well, like controlling your lights, top-up, logging the temp on your pc etc. etc....
     
  10. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Hi Warr - cool! I think that Hennie uses something similar to this...
     
  11. Warr7207

    Warr7207 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    hennie

    i would be interested

    thanks
     
  12. mandarinman

    mandarinman

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2007
    Posts:
    6,377
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    capetown,durbanville
    price of control unit

    unit to control temp,comp linkable, fan, etc costs 898 plus it aint put together, in the long run it will cost more for all add ons, go with the complete unit
     
  13. Zookeeper

    Zookeeper

    Joined:
    1 Aug 2007
    Posts:
    465
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Warr what is your plan for the controller? What are you planning to control?I`m always looking for new ideas to improve my setup.
     
  14. Reef Maniac

    Reef Maniac MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    15 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,899
    Likes Received:
    112
    Location:
    Bloemfontein
    Yes, a very interesting and useful controller, if I remember correctly... you had a thread on it - could you please post a link to it, so Warr7207 could look at it?

    Hennie
     
  15. Reef Maniac

    Reef Maniac MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    15 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,899
    Likes Received:
    112
    Location:
    Bloemfontein
    Not sure if you're referring to "my" controllers, but in general:
    • IMHO unless a person is *really* not able to use a screwdriver and wire stripper (or knife...) the "putting together" these units are quite easy, especially so if it's only one temperature controller.
    • Why would one need "add ons" in the long run? If the need is to only have a temperature controller, then the one unit will be a temperature controller... If' however, the need later change to also wanting a pH controller (or meter), and/or other type of controller, it's very easy to expand, and one only pays for that which one needs at that point in time. My 3 controllers have been running faultlessly for some 7+ months, and I'm currently considering the addition of a conductivity controller to measure & control the tank's salinity as well.
    Hennie
     
  16. Warr7207

    Warr7207 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    I just want to control my sump fans, rather than them running 24/7. Doing my bit for Eskom :whistling:
     
  17. Alfie

    Alfie

    Joined:
    5 Oct 2007
    Posts:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Cape Town
    I connect mine to the timer for the lights, so when the lights come on so do the fans.
     
  18. mandarinman

    mandarinman

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2007
    Posts:
    6,377
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    capetown,durbanville
    i hear what you say and it makes sense to me
     
  19. brentnorm

    brentnorm

    Joined:
    6 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    2,198
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Thats a good idea Alfie but I think much more energy efficient for them to come on only when needed. ie, when the temp starts to rise.
     
  20. Warr7207

    Warr7207 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    I only need the fans on for a short period of time (3hours) and mainly in Summer. The other reason I don't want the fans running long periods of time is the evaporation rate is increased hectically when the fans run.
     
  21. Alfie

    Alfie

    Joined:
    5 Oct 2007
    Posts:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Cape Town
    only run mine in the hotter periods of summer, unplug otherwise
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Temp Probe Forum Date
[wtd] STC 1000 temp probe Wanted 16 Oct 2016
[wtd] STC1000 Temp probe Wanted 12 Jan 2016
Chiller Temperature Probe New Members 8 Dec 2015
Hailea temp probe ► Sponsor Request Forum 16 Oct 2015
Profilux II Light Temp Probe Problem Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers 16 Apr 2014
Temp Probe problem Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers 15 Nov 2008
Ways to reduce Water Temperature General Discussions and Advice Thursday at 13:24