tds

Discussion in 'Nuisance Algae' started by wookie, 27 Dec 2014.

1. wookie

wookie

Guys your input here went to get ro water today and decided to check the tds, i have been battling with gha and the tds was 043 and i have been using this water for 10 months now

20141227_112008.jpg

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. makharold

makharold

Same thing happened to me , stupid petshop ,I now own an ro machine .just make sure ur tds meter is calibrated and not giving false readings before u go argue with the petshop

4. wookie

wookie Thread Starter

Yea told them and they tested came back as 033 so I'm also gonna invest in a ro unit

5. makharold

makharold

Best option call Marko @TheWaterboy hell hook u up .just outta curiosity was it the petshop in kings road Pinetown

Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  6. wookie

wookie Thread Starter

Yip it was will try get an ro unit next week

Last edited: 27 Dec 2014
  7. 459b

459b Moderator MASA Contributor

Any contaminants in the container can effect the tds, so even using the same container to mix salt and collect RO can effect the tds

8. carlosdeandrade

carlosdeandrade

Take your TDS meter the shop and ask them to test a sample there. Please don't make assumptions, before collecting all the facts.

9. wookie

wookie Thread Starter

Read my earlier post where i contacted them and they did a reading and came back to me with 033 ppm.

10. carlosdeandrade

carlosdeandrade

Missed that, but rather keep threads like this off MASA, it won't help and take it up with the owner.

11. wookie

wookie Thread Starter

I did take it up with the owner who by the way is a friend, the point of my post was to ascertain whether the high tds is the cause of gha that I'm battling with, I'm running anti phos In a reactor, algae scrubber lowered lighting etc etc etc. Just trying to get to the bottom this and not to slate any lfs off...

12. JS

JS