TDS Tester

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by CJT, 15 Jun 2013.

  1. CJT

    CJT

    Joined:
    6 May 2011
    Posts:
    513
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Mondeor
    I got a TDS meter just wanted to check do they come correctly calibrated?
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. carlosdeandrade

    carlosdeandrade

    Joined:
    24 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    8,230
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    North Riding, Jozi
  4. CJT

    CJT Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 May 2011
    Posts:
    513
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Mondeor
    Thanks Carlos my RO water gets a reading of 3 but the filters are a year old thought it would be higher the tap water is 106
     
  5. CJT

    CJT Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 May 2011
    Posts:
    513
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Mondeor
    I just checked again the water directly out the RO unit reads 6 after its been in a container for a few days reads 3 and the waist reads 110
     
  6. carlosdeandrade

    carlosdeandrade

    Joined:
    24 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    8,230
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    North Riding, Jozi
    Sounds right. Any reading below five is still good and 6 after ac year is great. I would think about changing your membranes soon
     
  7. CJT

    CJT Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 May 2011
    Posts:
    513
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Mondeor
    Which membranes would need replacing?
    I know the carbon and micron filters but what about the two on top would they also need replacing?
     
  8. Dave F

    Dave F

    Joined:
    6 Nov 2011
    Posts:
    181
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Rustnburg
    And who would supply the membrane? I have tried h2o they ask about R1200. For one, is that about what they go for?
     
  9. CJT

    CJT Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 May 2011
    Posts:
    513
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Mondeor
    That's a lot for just the membrane
     
  10. CJT

    CJT Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 May 2011
    Posts:
    513
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Mondeor
    So with a TDS reading like this then it cant be mt RO water causing the GHA in my tank.
     
  11. butcherman

    butcherman Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2009
    Posts:
    11,626
    Likes Received:
    280
    Location:
    Kempton Park
    A few questions cjt. What ro unit do you have? My ro unit has 4 stages. 2 prefilters. The ro membrane and a DI resin compartment. Regular maintenence includes flushing the ro unit. Then when I start getting high tds readings that flushing the membrane wont cure I reolace the prefilters and Di resin. If I have previously replaced the prefilters I consider replacing the membrane.
    Also what area are you located?
    As carlos stated TDS of below 5 is acceptable.
     
  12. CJT

    CJT Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 May 2011
    Posts:
    513
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Mondeor
    Butcherman I am in JHB my RO unit does not have the flush option here is a pic:

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Bendor

    Bendor

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2011
    Posts:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Pietermaritzburg
    Flush the membrane: disconnect tubing just before last chamber(resin) and run a few liters through.

    Watch for resin that changes brown = useless (yours looks pretty brown)

    Step 1. Change Pre filters and resin
    Sep 2. Flush membrane
    Step . Check tds

    If tds still above 5 must be membrane, change as well.

    You can call Marco, The Waterboy, for advice or go to his website. It's what I use.
     
  14. Bendor

    Bendor

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2011
    Posts:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Pietermaritzburg
    To disconnect tubing:
    Remove small clip on clamp
    Push lip of clamp down
    Pull tube out while holding lip down.

    Works like a Chinese finger trap, if you pull without pushing you'll never get it out (without braking it...)
     
  15. CJT

    CJT Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 May 2011
    Posts:
    513
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Mondeor
    So is the membrane the see through one on the top or the closed one you cant see through?
    Do I just connect the hose pipe to it and run a few litres of normal water through it?
    Can the TDS reading change from day to day as when I checked yesterday I got a reading of 5/6 now I just made some more RO water and its reading 2PPM?
     
  16. carlosdeandrade

    carlosdeandrade

    Joined:
    24 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    8,230
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    North Riding, Jozi
    Yes the membrane is the top cannister that you can see through. Flushing the membrane is done with normal water.
     
  17. Bendor

    Bendor

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2011
    Posts:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Pietermaritzburg
    The top see through one is the resin. The membrane is the horizontal white one.
     
  18. CJT

    CJT Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 May 2011
    Posts:
    513
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Mondeor
    Ok cool so I basically run water through the membrane to flush it
     
  19. CJT

    CJT Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 May 2011
    Posts:
    513
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Mondeor
    Carlos/Bendor does this part make sense:

     
  20. Bendor

    Bendor

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2011
    Posts:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Pietermaritzburg
    Once you have done all of the above you must always before collecting new RO run a few liters through the machine. The first water to come out will have higher tds. Test only after it has run for a bit.
     
    Last edited: 17 Jun 2013
  21. CJT

    CJT Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 May 2011
    Posts:
    513
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Mondeor
    Brendor I have not changed any filters yet I got the two different readings off my old filters still.
    I tested Sat and got a reading of 5 then tested again got a reading of 6 then made water last night and its reading 1
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Tester Forum Date
Uv stereliser & tds tester General Discussions and Advice 23 Aug 2012
Brilliant Hanna testers for multiple parameters Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers 12 May 2011
Algae tester for all ID Needed 13 May 2009