Tank Design Question

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by HeleenRoos, 24 Feb 2014.

1. HeleenRoos

HeleenRoos

Hi All,

So I have a tank that I want to use for my first marine tank (I'm a complete novice so I'm trying to take things slow).

Tank size: 180cm(L) x 45cm(W) x 55cm(H).

The guy I got the tank from used it as a marine tank.

You can see the water overflows in the middle chamber and drains into the sump through a hole in the base. But the other two chambers on either side confuse me a little, he mentioned he had pumps in them to create circulation in the tank. But how did he manage it? Did the return from the sump fill up both those chambers? Or only one? If so, what do I use the other chamber for?

Can I work with the tank like this or should I try and alter the design? I couldn't find a similar design on the internet, so I just wanted to find out from the experts :blush:

Thanks!

20140224_191055.jpg

20140224_191115.jpg

20140224_191246.jpg

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. RiaanP

RiaanP Moderator

He tried to run them as a wave box

The length of the overflow box is a bit too short. I would cut out that box, and put in another overflow that is the full width of the tank.

4. Evo R

Evo R

Looks like he used the other 2 chambers as a closed loop system but its hard to tell from the pics.

5. dallasg

dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

there is nothing wrong with that design, it will work 100%
    if you are not comfortable doing DIY them leave as is.

it looks like a closed loop, so you would fit the pump intake to the bottom hole, and the return to the top hole and it would create flow my moving water through the tank

like this
    [​IMG]

6. regis

regis

wow, nice graphic

7. HeleenRoos

HeleenRoos Thread Starter

Thank you for all the replies! Now I atleast know what its about.

I noticed that the two boxes on the sides are not completely sealed - there is no silicone on the sides touching the front and back of the tank.