T5

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by tinusb, 11 Mar 2009.

  1. tinusb

    tinusb

    Joined:
    13 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    327
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hey all!

    Got a very difficult decision to make now --- got a Jebo R208 [I THINK! It's a Jebo, 1.2m long]... want to get a 1.5m pendent, having 4x T5's 39W 14000k. Want to get to of these, thus it will result in 8 tubes. Will this be sufficient? Got a reef tank with a couple of LPS and softies.

    Thanx for the advise!
    T :)
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    If it is 600mm or shallower that will be plenty light of those corals
     
  4. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    Could even keep the odd Montipora :)
     
  5. Shaun

    Shaun Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 Aug 2007
    Posts:
    5,274
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    KZN
    My question is why the 39w 1,2m should be long enough for 54w.
     
  6. tinusb

    tinusb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    13 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    327
    Likes Received:
    1
    That's what the rating on the tubes said... but why do I get the feeling I'm being ripped off?
     
  7. Shaun

    Shaun Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 Aug 2007
    Posts:
    5,274
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    KZN
    AM,ATI etc T5's 54w =115cm long. 39w T5's are around 90cm (don't have the exact length. So a 1.5m long pendant should be able to handle the 54w T5's.
     
  8. tinusb

    tinusb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    13 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    327
    Likes Received:
    1
    Was kinda weird seeing such a lot of small tubes in a light pendant...
     
  9. Falcon

    Falcon

    Joined:
    26 Feb 2008
    Posts:
    2,869
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    VEREENIGING
    i also have a 1,2m display and the 54w t5 fits JUST PERFECT.:)

    so i think you should either get 4 to six of the 54w t5.

    in my tank i have four 54w t5's and two 38w t8 and my corals including a few sps that i have mounted a bit higher up are doing great colouring up nicely.

    what colour tubes did you have in mind?
     
  10. Shaun

    Shaun Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 Aug 2007
    Posts:
    5,274
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    KZN
    It will work out cheaper replacing 4 x 54w than 8 x 39w T5's.
     
  11. Jaco Schoeman

    Jaco Schoeman MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    22 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    2,241
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    JHB
    Hi guys. Just a question while you are on the subject... It might sound stupid, but so bare with the newbie please... ;)

    I am using specifically 39W T5's that are High Output - right? We also hear about having between 4-6 watts per gallon (+/-3,5litre) of water.
    Why then is the same length (90cm) T8's more wattage (50W) that T5's (39W), yet T5's shine brighter?

    Point is, I will only need two T8's to have 100Watts opposed to the three T5's I'd need for aprox the same amount of wattage (if you look at wattage per gallon)

    Please help?
     
  12. FransSny

    FransSny

    Joined:
    16 Oct 2008
    Posts:
    5,697
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Hermanus
    Jaco there is quite a good thread in the lighting forum...just browse around. you can also google "aquarium lighting types"..helped me
     
  13. FransSny

    FransSny

    Joined:
    16 Oct 2008
    Posts:
    5,697
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Hermanus
    PS i still dont understand it FULLY
     
  14. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Jaco/Frans - it has to do with the type of powder used in the fluorescent, and the actual arc amperage.... The higher the arc amps, and the more dense the powder, the more intense the lighting - meaning - the HIGHER THE OUTPUT of the light. Meaning: MORE CAN BE ACHIEVED WITH LESS WATTAGE (energy usage) of light....
    Hope that this makes sense...
     
  15. Jaco Schoeman

    Jaco Schoeman MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    22 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    2,241
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    JHB
    Ah, so in actual fact, a 39W T5 would actually produce more light (lumins) yet it only uses 39W of electricity. That makes more sense.

    Thank you Jacques!!:thumbup:
     
  16. Jaco Schoeman

    Jaco Schoeman MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    22 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    2,241
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    JHB
    Hey guys. I need URGENT advise here before I make a booboo. I am wanting to upgrade my lights and want to fit 39W tubes. MY LFS only has the 54W balast, yet 54W tubes will be too long for my tank.

    Can I put 39W tubes on a 54W ballast? This makes sense, as I can then have a 54W ballast should I increase my tank size later, so a bonus if I can do it this way.
     
  17. FransSny

    FransSny

    Joined:
    16 Oct 2008
    Posts:
    5,697
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Hermanus
    Thanks Jacques...thats what i understood....but eskom and me....we dont gel:p
     
  18. Tobes

    Tobes Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    30 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    9,482
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    A Beautiful place!
    Don't think it's a good idea. I've seen guys put a higher watt globe on a lower watt ballast, the globe doesn't shine to its full potential then, so it's a waste. If the ballast is stronger, you might pop the globe/tube.
     
  19. Falcon

    Falcon

    Joined:
    26 Feb 2008
    Posts:
    2,869
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    VEREENIGING
    OK YOU GOT YOURSELF CONFUSED BOET:p,not a stupid question at all but your facts are not correct.

    T8 3 foot(i.e +-90cm) has a wattage of 30W.T5 3 foot has a wattage of 39W.

    T8 4FOOT(+-115CM) has a wattage of 38W and T5 4foot has a wattage of 54W.

    so in both sizes the t5's are higher output than the same sized t8,;) hope this clarifies it for you bro,and dont worry there's no such thing as a stupid question on MASA and we all get confused sometimes in this hobby....
     
Recent Posts