T5 for SPS?

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by Fishy Steve, 29 Mar 2009.

1. Fishy Steve

Fishy Steve Hiden super user

My new tank is up and running. This week i'm getting a light unit that fits 3 39watt T5's. My current unit has 2 24watt T5's. I wanna know if this would be enough light for some SPS coral. My tank is 48cm high but i have a 10cm Dsb in the DT making it 38cm. I plan on getting decent bulbs. I was thinking 3 10000k, 1 14000k and 1 Actinic. What do u SPS guys think?

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Tony

Tony

MAybe 8 T5's. Five white and three actinics. It can be done but not with three bulbs

4. Fishy Steve

Fishy Steve Thread Starter Hiden super user

I was planning on using the 24watt unit as well. So altogether 165 watts of light on a shallow tank. I'm no expert but that seems ok to me but thats why i'm asking. It is only a 3 foot tank. Is it still a no no?

5. Tony

Tony

You could get by with 165watts as your tank is shallow. Your system also needs to be mature and stable with no nitrates and phosphates or the corals will brown

6. Warr7207

Warr7207

You need to aim for at least 250 watts of T5's

7. Fishy Steve

I guess if 2 guys who know what they're doing say its not enough it isn't. There won't be SPS in the tank for a while until i can get more light then. I just don't want a metal Halide cooking my water to the point i need a chiller. Thanks guys.

8. Shaun

Shaun Retired Moderator

9. Tony

Tony

Believe it or not T5's produce the same amount of heat watt for watt as metal halides. It's just that the heat is spread along the length of the tube which is why it feels warm not hot. There was a guy on reefkeeping.com who ran an SPS tank on T5's. Here's the link
    Tank of the Month - July 2008 - Reefkeeping.com

10. Monti

Monti

I personally think you can probably get away with 5 if you are clever with your aquascaping and coral palcement, and maybe lean towards montiporas and other easier to keep sps.