T5 ballast wiring length - how far can I push it?

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by Elrond, 14 Oct 2011.

  1. Elrond

    Elrond

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    269
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Cape Town
    MASA,

    I've got 3xOsram dual ballasts on my tank.

    The tank is 0.65m high and 0.7mx0.7m (L)x(W).

    I am having a constant issue with my earth leakage tripping in my house which results in all kinds of drama. This is being caused by moisture getting into the one ballast I've been 'forced' to place on the lighting hood itself and thus too close to the water. I've placed 2 of the ballasts in my cabinet as close to the top as possible for the T5' bulbs at the "back" of the tank, resulting in what I tell myself is no more than 1m of wire. These 2 ballasts never cause the earth leakage to trip. The issue is the 'front' set of bulbs which I reckon are about 0.5m from the back of the tank. If you do the math this would put the wiring length for the 'front' set of T5's at a minimum of 1.3-1.5m - way over what the ballasts recommend at 1m (maximum).

    Will it still work if I rewire this ballast to be inside the cabinet and a length of 1.3-1.5m.

    It's quite frustrating.

    Other suggestions?

    I've included a picture of the whole cabinet so you can see that I've opted for an extremely low lighting hood. It's compact, neat and I like the look of it... except it doesn't appear practical.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. zayd

    zayd

    Joined:
    19 Mar 2010
    Posts:
    727
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Cape Town
    The distances are specified on the balast. I think from ballast to light is 1m cable length. I have mine a little more an no problems.
     
  4. Elrond

    Elrond Thread Starter

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    269
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Cape Town
    zayd, how much is 'a little more' ? This is the crux of my question/concern...
     
  5. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    the limit is due to "noise" the globes can then interfere with radios etc
    but going a little thicker copper wont hurt
     
    Last edited: 14 Oct 2011
  6. zayd

    zayd

    Joined:
    19 Mar 2010
    Posts:
    727
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Cape Town
    I've gone about 1.2m
     
  7. lIghty

    lIghty

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    Correct, if I remeber correctly, the spec calls for a 0.5mm2 wire, I would take it up to a 1.5mm2, just do a test before you move the ballasts.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - ballast wiring length Forum Date
T5 Ballast wiring help Anything DIY Related 10 Aug 2012
Wiring a T5 Electronic Ballast Lighting 1 Dec 2009
Electronic Ballast wiring Lighting 29 Apr 2009
Need some help wiring a 250w mh ballast Lighting 1 Oct 2008
Looking for an odysee 24w T5 ballast Wanted 14 Nov 2016
where to get PL ballasts and fittings? Lighting 13 Dec 2015
[wtd] 250W Metal Halide Ballast Wanted 7 Oct 2015