T5 54watt dual ballasts.

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by aslam, 3 Apr 2009.

  1. aslam

    aslam

    Joined:
    24 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    671
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Pmb
    Hello guys,is it possible to run a 39watt and 54watt tube on a 54watt dual ballast.
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. ziyaadb

    ziyaadb

    Joined:
    18 Jul 2007
    Posts:
    5,566
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    JHB-Lenzz
    I ran a 24W T5 of a 30w T8 electronic ballast and it worked. Im sure it can be done but in your case you would be shortening its life
     
  4. aslam

    aslam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    24 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    671
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Pmb
    Hello Ziyaad,the problem is space.I want to place the 39watt at the back,I have my return line coming into the tank and a 54watt tube would not fit length wise.Going to try it,hope the ballasts does not blow.
     
  5. aslam

    aslam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    24 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    671
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Pmb
    Okay chap's,tried it and it work's.
     
  6. irshaad

    irshaad

    Joined:
    15 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    319
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Are t8 ballasts bad for t5 tubes? I've been running my t5's off t8 ballasts for quite some time now, corals (soft & lps) doing fine and growing.
    The t5 ballasts, besides being pricey as opposed to t8 ballasts, do not fit into my curved lighting hood.
     
  7. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,769
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    i am thinking its just the connectors that are diff, i agree a dual t5 ballast is R400 and i got 2 t8 electronic ballasts for R210
     
  8. irshaad

    irshaad

    Joined:
    15 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    319
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cape Town
    ok, R210 a bit steep, paid R150 for two at SAMS
     
  9. keyaam

    keyaam

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Cape Town
    I got a Quicktronic multiwatt ballast up to 35w. Will a 39w T5 work on this ballast. I got it from someone who ran a T5 on this but do not want to blow a bulb by trying it out.
     
  10. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    You won't blow the globe, but you can damage the ballast, or it won't fire up
     
  11. aslam

    aslam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    24 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    671
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Pmb
    Guy's t5 ballasts are cheaper than R400.Check with sponsor's.The ballasts are slim easy to connect and donot generate alot of heat.I would not recommend mounting them inside your hood.Regarding my question in the 1st post,I have since tried it and it works.I suppose I am overdriving a 39watt tube using a 54watt ballast but I don't mind.Shot.
     
  12. keyaam

    keyaam

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Tried it. Not successful
     
  13. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,142
    Likes Received:
    1,228
    Location:
    Centurion
    You can get dual ballast T5 24-39w for under R170. And you can run any wattage from 24 to 39 on it.
    Even try electical suppliers, I got Osram ballasts.

    Difference between T5 and T8, T5 is an electronic ballast where T8 is electrical (almost like a transformer). That is why T8 are normally boxed shaped and T5 can be thin and long to fit into thinner units.

    Correct me if I'm wrong but running different wattage on same ballast unit will affect lifespan of either the globes or the ballast as the load is not ballanced.
     
  14. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    Correct, but only when globes are lower wattage than ballast, unlikely you be able to run a 80w globe off a 24w ballast.
     
  15. irshaad

    irshaad

    Joined:
    15 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    319
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cape Town
    You get t8 electronic ballasts as well, which are like 100 times lighter, and generate very little heat. My old t8 ballasts were heavy like bricks, and hot like a stove. One even melted my t8 electronic ballast plastic covering which was placed next to it.
    i've never tried the old t8 ballast on t5's tho..
     
  16. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,769
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    my t8 electronic ballast weighs about 200grams with fittings and make no heat
     
  17. chikaboo

    chikaboo

    Joined:
    2 Jan 2009
    Posts:
    4,980
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Newcastle - KZN
    Hi everyone going thru this thread - you actually can run any globe of any of the ballast but its detrimental to the lifespan of the lower unit like a lower wattage ballast will not last as long as it should without the correct bulb - also the ballast will only give of its wattage so if you buy a higher wattage bulb you just wasting money coz it will not glow brighter than what the ballast gives off power-wise! Talking from experience and not an electrician but work with quite a bit of lighting due to the nature of my business! Also If you have lower wattage bulb than ballast than the bulbs lifespan will be shortened! (All this from playing around with them physically and in my work situation - so yeh guys straight from the horse's mouth)
     
  18. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    Remember the wattage rating on a T5 is only because of it's length.

    The longer the globe the higher the wattage.

    The brightness or intensity per sq. cm is exactly the same.
     
  19. chikaboo

    chikaboo

    Joined:
    2 Jan 2009
    Posts:
    4,980
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Newcastle - KZN
    Sorry Warr beg to differ I have a bank of 4 foot bulbs - 3 x 28Watt inbetween 4 x 54 watt all of them 6400k - distinct difference when i put them on seperately and all the same length all this on my 6 foot tank and for the 3 foot I have 3 foot 39watt units
     
  20. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    Sorry I don't quite get this ??

    The different wattages are different length globes, you don't get an 80 and 54w T5 the same length
     
  21. chikaboo

    chikaboo

    Joined:
    2 Jan 2009
    Posts:
    4,980
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Newcastle - KZN
    Hi warr dont know about the 80 and 54 but definately have diferent wattage bulbs with same lengths!
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - 54watt dual ballasts Forum Date
[wtd] Odyssea dual 54watt T5 unit Wanted 6 Apr 2014
T5 dual ballast 54watt Wanted 15 Jul 2008
54watts t5 unit Wanted 13 May 2010
54watt T5 ballasts Lighting 15 Mar 2010
Osram 54watt t5, 6400 kelvin tube. Lighting 25 Aug 2008
Sneaky deceitful individuals General Discussions and Advice 29 Aug 2016
Dual RW8 placement help Pumps and Waterflow 28 Jul 2016