Syphon Filter

Joined
21 May 2008
Posts
230
Reaction score
0
Location
Port Elizabeth
hey guys i really need help.
built myself a syphon to get water into my sump, cant drill! but now i cant get the inlet flow to equal the outlet flow. i have put a valve on the inlet pipe to regulate the amount of flow. but i cant get it 100% perfect.
really need help on this one.
 
Joined
20 Jul 2008
Posts
6,743
Reaction score
21
Location
Durban
By inlet you mean the end of the pipe that connects to the display tank and not the sump correct? Maybe the valve was better on the output? the oveflow pipe would only allow as much water to flow into the sump that the inlet would let it so are you having the sump being filled with too much water or the sump being left more dry(as in too much water is being pumped back into the tank)? If the latter is the case maybe open up your valve to allow more flow into your sump, if its the former, you would just have to tinker with the valve to try and slow it down to the same speed. if your sump if being left more dry then maybe you should open the valve as much as possible but if its still drying up you may need to make another hole on the inlet. that help?
 
Joined
21 May 2008
Posts
230
Reaction score
0
Location
Port Elizabeth
hey thanks for the reply.
yes i have been doing that in theory it would work but it will slowly beome unbalanced. you will never get the flow to be exactly the same. is there any other way of doing a syphon overflow?
 
Joined
20 Jul 2008
Posts
6,743
Reaction score
21
Location
Durban
ya i think there is, no matter what power your return pump, that water which is excess to your display tank will flow down to your sump. So open your overflow 100% thats is the only way to keep the water going in equal to the water going out. If that flow is too fast for you you could always put your valve on the output of the pump. That cool?
 
Joined
21 May 2008
Posts
230
Reaction score
0
Location
Port Elizabeth
oh ok i understand what you are saying now. but when that is done it sucks air in aswell and makes a hell of a noise. anyway of reducing the noise?
 
Joined
20 Jul 2008
Posts
6,743
Reaction score
21
Location
Durban
Yes there is. You can attach a Durso standpipe. It looks kind of like an r-pipe. like the shape of an r, it is in the MASApedia page, go to beginners, then Durso. Or even just use this link
http://www.marineaquariumsa.com/wiki/images/6/65/Durso_assembled.jpg

Its really easy to make. All you really need it the the bit on the end that looks like an r. I used an ordinary bit of PVC Y-bend piping. Really cheap. it was like R12 or something. It would really help you out. Drastically makes things quieter, The pipe would sit vertical, with the bendin the water at its surface, check this link cause i think my description was bad:)
http://www.marineaquariumsa.com/wiki/images/e/ed/Complete_tank3.jpg

These are all MASA links so its definitely good!
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
7 Mar 2008
Posts
639
Reaction score
5
Location
Kimberley
I built myself a Durso and can finally sleep at night without a gurgling noise keeping me awake!:thumbup: Would definitely recommend it, cheap, easy to built and very effective.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
7 Mar 2008
Posts
639
Reaction score
5
Location
Kimberley
Btw, why can't you drill if you don't mind me asking?
 

Similar threads


Top