Superfrog's RSM 130D

Discussion in 'RSM Red Sea Max tanks' started by superfrog, 13 Oct 2010.

1. superfrog

superfrog

Time to share the new setup. As some of you know, I decided to dive into a Red Sea Max 130D as my next project. Really liked the look of these tanks and when I studied it a bit further it seemed like it really was worth it's pricetag.

So here goes...as with my pico thread, this one will probably be pic heavy. I likes pichers!

Tank set up, salted and stirred; threw in aragonite and waiting for the dust to settle...
    [​IMG]

Sugar fine Carib-Sea Aragonite
    [​IMG]

SunSun 3000 lph added until i can hook up something a little more fancy
    [​IMG]

Some good surface agitation provided by the stock return pumps
    [​IMG]

Stock skimmer in action. Nothing really great atm as there's pretty much zero bio load
    [​IMG]

surface skimmer in action
    [​IMG]

50/50 stock lighting and built in timer. Integrated moonlights switch on when day lights switch off or the moonlights can be manually switched off using the switch next to the timer...
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

Built in power center/distribution board thing.
    [​IMG]

Finally clearing up
    [​IMG]

stay tuned... ;)

Last edited: 13 Oct 2010
  2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. superfrog

superfrog Thread Starter

After 2 or 3 days of the tank running with just water, it was clear that i was also going to fall victim to the notorius RSM overheat gripe.

Threw in a laboratory grade thermometer to keep an eye on temps.
    [​IMG]

Then decided to install 2 more cooling fans in the hood. Poor Bryan at Jungle Aquatics was mortified when I told him i cut the hood to install these :p (wonder if he's recovered from the heart palpitations...)

After I found the right size hole saw, this took all of 30 minutes to sort out.These things push some serious amounts of air...
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]