Sump rebuild - DIY expert needed

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by Raven, 21 Feb 2016.

  1. Raven

    Raven

    Joined:
    4 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    873
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Alberton
    Hi everyone,
    I'm looking for someone in alberton area that can come and evaluate my setup, redesign my sump, build and install the new sump.

    The one that I currently have is way too small.
    I have an external skimmer, which I can't use with the current design.
    Oh-it will be great if we can relook at the wirings as well. It is currently a crows nest...
     
    Last edited: 22 Feb 2016
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Raven

    Raven Thread Starter

    Joined:
    4 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    873
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Alberton
    Bump
     
  4. Nemeziz_za

    Nemeziz_za

    Joined:
    25 Sep 2012
    Posts:
    1,584
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Durbanville, (Cpt)
    perhaps take some time and post what you currently have, a photo with a bit of a descriptor will go a long way. If you prepared to put some effort in perhaps others will too?
     
  5. madmatt

    madmatt

    Joined:
    4 Mar 2014
    Posts:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    JHB South
    Agree.
    Sump size and what you thinking of having in the sump.
    Even if you draw your ideas down and then post them on here. We can all have a look and tweet your idea.
     
  6. Raven

    Raven Thread Starter

    Joined:
    4 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    873
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Alberton
    Hi,
    Ok here is a basic drawing of what I was thinking of doing.
    I need two separate sumps. I won't be able to fit one long tank under my tank... There are support structures infront in the cabinet which prevents this.
    Thus the two sumps.

    The overflow from the display tank will feed sump one. I'm thinking of making a little "box" in the sump where the water will fall into. This is just to "break" the water fall a bit - so that the DSB won't be disturbed.

    Both sumps will have a DSB with macro alga in the first sump.
    In the second chamber of the first sump (Same chamber as the skimmer pump) will be the Orca cubes and Carbon.

    I have an external skimmer, which will be fed from the first sump, and the water will flow back to the first sump.

    What else can I add in?

    Sump1.jpg
     
  7. Raven

    Raven Thread Starter

    Joined:
    4 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    873
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Alberton
    any views on the design?
     
  8. madmatt

    madmatt

    Joined:
    4 Mar 2014
    Posts:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    JHB South
    The split sump design is out of my comfort zone.
     
  9. Raven

    Raven Thread Starter

    Joined:
    4 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    873
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Alberton
    Can't be that bad... ;-)
     
  10. madmatt

    madmatt

    Joined:
    4 Mar 2014
    Posts:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    JHB South
    Hahahahaha I'm not a pro by any means.
     
  11. Nemeziz_za

    Nemeziz_za

    Joined:
    25 Sep 2012
    Posts:
    1,584
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Durbanville, (Cpt)
    Hi,

    Split sump is no issue if you protect the internal sump feed from blockage. You can do this by adding a fail safe second feed pipe. You could also add a strainer in front of the feed that is offset to provide protection from blocking. I'll try find a pic of what I Kern tomorrow.

    You should consider more physical filtering like filter sock or foam pads of some sort. I'm not sure if at this size if the macro algae won't eat waste. More effort then benefit based on how much you could grow in the area to really be effective.

    Just throwing some ideas in here for you, but you seem to have it covered.
     
  12. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,161
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Centurion
    Pipes to and from the skimmer will be in your way to do maintenance on the return pump.

    And the direct straight connection between the sumps should rather be an S type connection. Yes it will take more space in between but it will be able to handle differences in water level better, thus avoiding pressure on the side panels.

    Filtration should be mechanical, biological then chemical. Orca is biological. Plan how you would deal with the salt spray.

    Do you have 3 equal areas to do this sump?
     
  13. Raven

    Raven Thread Starter

    Joined:
    4 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    873
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Alberton
    So I will have to make sure that the Skimmer's pipes must be at the back of the setup. Out of the way.. How will that impact the performance of the pump? Probably not that bad...
    S - Type connection? What do you mean by that?

    I can change the first tank so that the first chamber to be mechanical filter.. Filterwool?
    I have one big open area under the main tank. the reason why I need to split it, is that the doors and the support structure for the doors will prevent me to get one big tank in. There are no dividers within the cabinet it self...
     
  14. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,161
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Centurion
    Can you remove temporary one of the side panels and slide in a longer sump. Enough space next to the tank to be able to do that.

    S-type. Basically the outlet hole is in the front of the side panel of the one tank, and the corresponding connection hole is at the back of the facing side panel. Both holes with bulkhead connections. And 90 degree elbows facing each other. With short length PVC pipe in between. This way, any slight height difference is taken up by the way you install the pipes.

    With directly opposite holes, your alignment must be 100%. Any bit out, or even emptying one side causing the supporting polystyrene to give way slightly different, can cause pressure on the side panels with a fix straight connection.
     
  15. Raven

    Raven Thread Starter

    Joined:
    4 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    873
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Alberton
    Ok - must the inlet of the second sump be a bit lower than the outlet of the first?
    I'm not to keen to remove an support. The tank is full and running. Don't want to risk that.
     
  16. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,161
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Centurion
    not needed, but can help. As long as the two holes are not right across each other. The further away the easier would it be to fit the plumbing.

    Why do you not put the skimmer on the left?
     
  17. Raven

    Raven Thread Starter

    Joined:
    4 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    873
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Alberton
    I don't have an opening on the far left. It will make it impossible to get to the skimmer. That's why I placed the sump with minimal "maintenance" in that space. The part where the skimmer pump is located will be apposite the door.
     
  18. Raven

    Raven Thread Starter

    Joined:
    4 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    873
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Alberton
    Hi everyone...
    I'm running a bit out of time now. The pump of my TS2 skimmer is not working - thus I'm without a skimmer.
    I can see more algea starting to grow... My water quality is going down south...

    Any Tank builders around that can build the sumps for me?
    I'm pretty confident that my measurements are correct, but will sleep a bit better if someone can come and have a look at the setup.
    You might just pickup on something that I've missed...
     
  19. EFJ

    EFJ MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    13 Sep 2011
    Posts:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    277
    Location:
    Dwaalboom 60km's from Thabazimbi
    What is wrong with the pump?
     
  20. Raven

    Raven Thread Starter

    Joined:
    4 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    873
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Alberton
    It will work for a couple of minutes, then stop.
    I've checked - looks like I have a little "bump/bubble" where the magnet fits in. It's as if it got too hot at a stage, and something melted/popped within the pump.
    as soon as the pumps get a bit hot it stops..
     
  21. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,161
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Centurion
    Pump is a gonner. Can keep the impeller and shaft as spares.
    I had a Hailey return pump that done the same. Had to replace it.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Sump rebuild expert Forum Date
Rebuilding my sump.... General Discussions and Advice 22 May 2009
Sump design and plumbing General Discussions and Advice 24 Nov 2016
Sumpless refugium Anything DIY Related 1 Nov 2016
[wtd] Plumbing for sump to tank Wanted 29 Oct 2016
What to add to sump Chemical Filtration / Low Nutrient Systems - LNS 23 Oct 2016
In my sump ID Needed 19 Oct 2016
Sump help New Members 4 Oct 2016