Sump overflow buffer volume

Discussion in 'Anything DIY Related' started by RiaanP, 12 Jan 2010.

  1. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,164
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    Centurion
    How much does your water level in display drop when the power goes?

    To work out the buffer area needed in the sump to be able to handle the extra overflow from display tank in case of a power outage.

    How do you do it?

    Is my logic right: take 2cm * length and width of water inside tank. That will give you the maximum liters that should or could drain to the tank when return pump stops. (Obviously it depends on your syphon break design.)

    So your sump must be able to handle that volume.

    To take it further, Take that water volume divide by (length * width) and that should give you the height the water in the sump will rise when the return stops.

    I was suggested 2cm drop in display tank. Is that a good guideline.
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. mnd123

    mnd123

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    1,753
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Fourways Gardens
    All I know is that I seriously misjudged this on my new tank and flooded my office ;)

    Had to change return so that they siphon until about that, 2cm.
     
  4. Neil H

    Neil H Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    11 May 2008
    Posts:
    2,795
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    JHB
    Riaan

    i used the same logic with my sump design, the baffle heights we designed on this principle, and i have never had a flood, Just remember if you have an in tank skimmer this will steal a little of your buffer

    I think 2cm is realistic, but highly dependant on your siphon break .... i cut a V shape in the outlet of my return, this kicks in extremely quickly
     
  5. mnd123

    mnd123

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    1,753
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Fourways Gardens
    Great point Neil, when the power goes, add the volume of whats in the skimmer to the sump too! I have a TS4 and when it drains to the water level it is what caused the flood.
     
  6. RiaanP

    RiaanP Thread Starter Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,164
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    Centurion
    Ok, to be even more safe than flooding.
    I should exclude the skimmer compartment totally from the calculation for the sump length and width. In case I add any Carbon reactors in the future to the first chamber.

    So on a tank of 1.5 by .75 width, glass thickness 10mm gives me 1480*730*20 = 21.6L of water.
    Sump length (excluding chamber 1) * width is 1000 * 614 (taking 8mm glass thickness into account)
    Sump should then be 21.6L / (1000*614) equal to 35.19mm

    So a 2cm water drop in the display will result in a 3.5 cm rise in sump.
     
  7. Neil H

    Neil H Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    11 May 2008
    Posts:
    2,795
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    JHB
    sounds about right
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Sump overflow buffer Forum Date
help me in overflow and sump desgin General Discussions and Advice 7 Jan 2015
Red Sea Max 250 sump overflow help RSM Red Sea Max tanks 2 Nov 2014
Urgent help needed Skimmer overflowed into sump Urgent Help Needed 16 Jan 2014
Sump compartments overflowing - help needed Biological/Natural Filtration and Deep Sand Beds 12 Jan 2014
Skimmer Overflowing Back Into Sump Protein Skimmers, Mechanical Filtration 1 Jun 2013
noisey overflow and return to sump General Discussions and Advice 27 Jul 2012
bucket sump without overflow or drilled tank General Discussions and Advice 9 Jul 2012