Sump idea please

Discussion in 'Anything DIY Related' started by Annoying, 20 Sep 2009.

  1. Annoying

    Annoying

    Joined:
    14 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    2,107
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth
    Hello everybody

    I have a problem with planning my sump for my tank. My glass can not be drilled and I don't precisely know how to make the sump then:whistling:... I know the water should preferably come from the top of the tank so I thaught of placing a pump there and a pipe and let it flow into the sump and then a pump at the end pumping it back. Any ideas about this or plans that I can find somewhere. Any other ideas welcome!

    Thanx
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Annoying

    Annoying Thread Starter

    Joined:
    14 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    2,107
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth
    oh ya sorry is it really neccesary to place the intake to the sump at the top of the main tank or can you use a pump at the bottom of the main tank to pump it in?
     
  4. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Annoying - sorry mate. I am not in any way a specialist in building sumps. BUT, I CAN tell you that your should DEFINITELY not try and pump the water out of your display tank. It is absolute "best practice" to have an overflow, with a "durso" (or another type of) overflow built into your tank.
    This is for BOTH surface skimming, as well as the fact that you it would make "trying to balance" the overflow and your return pump far better!
     
  5. lIghty

    lIghty

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    Not Sure what you trying to do?, could you please draw a sketch of what your plan is?

    WRT pumping out of the DT and into the sump, this can be done but ONLY with a overhead sump (sump above the DT)..... but has its own problems.....
     
  6. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,164
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    Centurion
    Balancing pumps, will not work. One piece of rubbish, shell, food, or whatever decides to stuff up you day, will block one of the pumps. Resulting in the other pump emptying the tank it is in. Even if the pump is only partially blocked. And the result = Empty Display tank + flooded sump. Or the other way around.

    If you can not drill your DT. You can make a overflow with 50mm pipes. I got 1 running with no problems from January. And I made another Saturday on my new frag tank. Works perfectly. If you want to I will take a picture and show you how.

    Basically:
    You use pipes and bends to make two U shapes. One U go inside the tank, other outside. Connect two U's with 2 elbows and short piece of pipe. Like this:
     n
    U U

    :), (without a picture this is the best I could do to draw it)

    Inside U open end should be at water level.
    Outside U open end bit shorter with T piece or angled T piece slightly lower than water level
     
  7. Hermanus

    Hermanus

    Joined:
    16 Apr 2009
    Posts:
    679
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Harrismith
    You do get overflow box's from LFS that just hooks on but is normally over a R1000.00
     
  8. Johan van Aardt

    Johan van Aardt I love marines [R.I.P.]

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2009
    Posts:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    cape town, table view
    Hi im busy building a tank with a sump above the tank but it does come with quite a bit desighning isues, so if you can do it Riaans way i think it would be better
     
  9. butcherman

    butcherman Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2009
    Posts:
    11,626
    Likes Received:
    280
    Location:
    Kempton Park
    hey annoying. I agree with RiaanP. if you dont want to drill the tank why dont you try your hand at making a Syphon overflow from 40mm or even 50mm pvc piping. All dependant on how big your tank is and the size of your return pump. how big is your tank? it is almost imposiable to ballance 2 pumps if you wanna pump to your sump and pump back to your display tank.
    It will work out alot cheaper than an overflow box only dont side is a little more piping in the tank.
    The basic shape you need to make will look like this
    [​IMG]

    Here is one i have made for my tank made from 40mm pipe
    [​IMG]
     
  10. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,164
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    Centurion
    Yip, that is the basic design.
    Mine are 50mm as the bends are cheaper that 40mm. Also will handle a bit more flow.

    Butcherman. What I added to mine, is to drill a 6mm hole in the top highest part where it go over the tank. (the "n" section). Inserted black garden micro irrigation pipe there that goes to the venturi intake of the old style circulation pumps. Then it will start the siphon automatically, and keep it.

    I found that bubbles will and can travel down the inlet pipe. Depending on flow rate and on height of outside T piece. With the venturi sucking the bubbles out, it will remove any bubbles before they accumulate and cause a siphon break.
     
  11. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,164
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    Centurion
    And another mod:
    Put eggcrate, or netting tied with a cable tie around the inlet open end.

    I had a snail and a fish going to the sump via that route. Only problem, my setup the overflow goes diectly to the scrubber...
     
  12. Phyrannus

    Phyrannus

    Joined:
    23 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Under the Sea
  13. Annoying

    Annoying Thread Starter

    Joined:
    14 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    2,107
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth
    Thanks for the help! Just curious Rian butwhat happens if the power goes out, does your sump overflow or how deep is the intake in the aquarium?
     
  14. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,164
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    Centurion
    The intake makes a U inside the tank. The inlet level is at water level. I got minimal water level drop in Display when power goes out. Power back on, everything restarts automatically. No Problem
     
  15. Annoying

    Annoying Thread Starter

    Joined:
    14 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    2,107
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth
    Thanx:thumbup:!
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Sump idea please Forum Date
Sump build ideas Anything DIY Related 29 Oct 2015
Alternate Ideas for sumps General Discussions and Advice 14 Apr 2013
New Sump Idea Beginner Discussions 22 Jul 2011
Sump design ideas needed. General Discussions and Advice 20 May 2011
Sump Ideas needed General Discussions and Advice 25 Mar 2011
My sump idea - your comments Biological/Natural Filtration and Deep Sand Beds 2 Aug 2010
Crazy Idea - No Sump Required!! General Discussions and Advice 20 Jan 2010