Sump build ideas

Slaapkousie

Damsel
Joined
28 Oct 2015
Posts
391
Reaction score
65
Location
Potchefstroom
Firstly sorry if this is in the wrong place. uploadfromtaptalk1446108157024.jpg

I am planning in building a sump but don't want to to drill tank or cut cabinet.

Idea that I had was instead of using baffles to regulate water height to use three different tanks in each compartment under Cabinet. Installing a basic pipe connected at different heights to each successive tank.

Single pipe or lengthened slits as input to next compartment

Compartment 1 for intake and skimmer
Compartment 2 for refugium
Compartment 3 for return to tank

See attached photo for idea...

Also suggestions for overflow? Comercial Overflow box or DIY piping?

uploadfromtaptalk1446108274450.png

uploadfromtaptalk1446108157024.jpg


uploadfromtaptalk1446108274450.png
 

RiaanP

Moderator
Joined
11 Aug 2008
Posts
25,813
Reaction score
2,058
Location
Centurion
On the overflow.
Best is to get the tank drilled. One day the overflow box will fail. Maybe with float valve in display to switch off the return pump if display gets too full. But it should be on a relay that keeps it off once triggered.

I had an overflow DIY design years ago. It will build up bubbles inside the pipe requiring frequent maintenance. Using a old style venturi powerhead with airline hose attached to the overflow point to suck the bubbles out does work, unless it gets blocked. But you will have tine micro bubbles in your display as the venturi pump smashes the bubbles up.
 

Slaapkousie

Damsel
Joined
28 Oct 2015
Posts
391
Reaction score
65
Location
Potchefstroom
On the overflow.
Best is to get the tank drilled. One day the overflow box will fail. Maybe with float valve in display to switch off the return pump if display gets too full. But it should be on a relay that keeps it off once triggered.

I had an overflow DIY design years ago. It will build up bubbles inside the pipe requiring frequent maintenance. Using a old style venturi powerhead with airline hose attached to the overflow point to suck the bubbles out does work, unless it gets blocked. But you will have tine micro bubbles in your display as the venturi pump smashes the bubbles up.
Won't placing the pump in the sump clear up the bubble problem? Before a bubble trap?

Really not keen on getting tank drilled at all
 

RiaanP

Moderator
Joined
11 Aug 2008
Posts
25,813
Reaction score
2,058
Location
Centurion
Do not connect the sumps directly to each other. Bulkhead against bulkhead. Water height in each tank would be different and downward pressure on the polystyrene would also be different. Hard plumbing with straight connector could lead to tension on the side panels leading to a cracked sump.

Rather use a sort of "S" configuration. Have the outlet hole at the back of the side panel on first tank. Inlet is at the front part of side panel on next tank. with 2 * 90 degree elbows facing each other and a short straight section of PVC pipe in between. This way weight differences etc would be cancelled out a lot better than a straight connection.
 

RiaanP

Moderator
Joined
11 Aug 2008
Posts
25,813
Reaction score
2,058
Location
Centurion
Won't placing the pump in the sump clear up the bubble problem? Before a bubble trap?
Nope.

You have an airline connected to the very top of the DIY overflow box or even a stored bought one. And the airline then goes down to the venturi pump in your sump. What will happen when the power goes out? That airline becomes an suction hose, slowly draining the display and flooding the sump. Been there, done that. Mopped the floor while trying to understand what happened. It will be super slow, so a 5 or 10 minute break in power will not cause issues. And you will most likely not even realize that the display water level is dropping. Hour or 2 later... wet floor.
 

RiaanP

Moderator
Joined
11 Aug 2008
Posts
25,813
Reaction score
2,058
Location
Centurion
Could you draw what you mean?
Not at the moment.

But instead of drilling the opposing holes directly in line with each other. Drill one towards the back, and the other towards the front. So that they are offset by as much as possible.
 

Slaapkousie

Damsel
Joined
28 Oct 2015
Posts
391
Reaction score
65
Location
Potchefstroom
Nope.

You have an airline connected to the very top of the DIY overflow box or even a stored bought one. And the airline then goes down to the venturi pump in your sump. What will happen when the power goes out? That airline becomes an suction hose, slowly draining the display and flooding the sump. Been there, done that. Mopped the floor while trying to understand what happened. It will be super slow, so a 5 or 10 minute break in power will not cause issues. And you will most likely not even realize that the display water level is dropping. Hour or 2 later... wet floor.
Ok thanks. Was also thinking of adding non return valves. Especially for return pipe to main tank from sump. And cutoff valves if water in main display got too high...
 

Slaapkousie

Damsel
Joined
28 Oct 2015
Posts
391
Reaction score
65
Location
Potchefstroom
Not at the moment.

But instead of drilling the opposing holes directly in line with each other. Drill one towards the back, and the other towards the front. So that they are offset by as much as possible.
Ok het the idea. Better weight distribution over bigger distance.
 

jimilutz

Damsel
Joined
17 Jan 2013
Posts
480
Reaction score
50
Location
Randburg
Why don't you just slip the glass into the cabinet sideways, you may have to remove one of the doors. You can then build the sump in place and get around the risky designs.
 

Slaapkousie

Damsel
Joined
28 Oct 2015
Posts
391
Reaction score
65
Location
Potchefstroom
Why don't you just slip the glass into the cabinet sideways, you may have to remove one of the doors. You can then build the sump in place and get around the risky designs.
Three compartment cabinet and limited space from wall... Tank is by the stairs can't really extend forward.
 

Vishaal

Shrimp
Joined
7 Mar 2010
Posts
278
Reaction score
22
Location
Johannesburg
Also instead of 1 pipe connection between the tanks do 2... I made the mistake of only making 1 hole.
Once i upgraded my return pump the hole did not have enough throughput.
 

Similar threads


Top