substract change

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by Salti, 22 Feb 2011.

  1. Salti

    Salti

    Joined:
    16 Nov 2010
    Posts:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Port elizabeth
    Hi everyone !!

    I think I used the wrong. Substract how
    Can I replace it and if so, how?

    Thanx
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. mariusmeyer

    mariusmeyer

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    3,054
    Likes Received:
    210
    Location:
    Jukskei Park, JHB
    Well why do you think you used the wrong stuff? What did you use?
     
  4. mariusmeyer

    mariusmeyer

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    3,054
    Likes Received:
    210
    Location:
    Jukskei Park, JHB
    How long has the tank been up and running for and what livestock do you have in it? What size is the tank?

    If the tank is still new then you could just remove it and replace it with playsand or aragonite if you want. Otherwse you would need to remove the substrate slowly over a period of 2 weeks or so as to not upset the filtration system and also to prevent a mini cycle due to the disturbance and release of nutrients in it. Then you can just add the new substrate.
     
  5. brentv

    brentv

    Joined:
    4 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    2,212
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Remember to add your Aragonite after your Live Rock, coz you can get critters undermining and rocks falling over!
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - substract change Forum Date
Orphek diode change Lighting 29 Jul 2016
water change done General Discussions and Advice 16 Jul 2016
Second Wave Contact Number changed Second Wave Dynamics 17 Feb 2016
doing a water change after my shrimp molted. General Discussions and Advice 10 Jan 2016
No water change in 13 months General Discussions and Advice 22 Sep 2015
Water change Q Nano Tank advice 15 Aug 2015
Possible eskom solution with your water change General Discussions and Advice 5 Aug 2015