Stray Voltage from top-up switch

Discussion in 'Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers' started by ChrisNell, 2 Nov 2011.

  1. ChrisNell

    ChrisNell

    Joined:
    6 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    511
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Silver Lakes, Pretoria
    I got a light shock from putting my hand into the sump or DT quite a few times now. Decided yesterday to look for the problem. Got around 90V AC with one multimeter probe in the water, one against the floor. Then switched all off. Voltage gone. Switched everything on one by one. Voltage came back when switching on the power to the ATU.

    Anyone has similar issues?

    I suppose I have an insulation problem on the switch?
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,142
    Likes Received:
    1,228
    Location:
    Centurion
    that is why it is advisable to use 12V only on the ATU switches. 90V do have a nice byte on it, especially if you are barefoot and standing on the smallest of water splashes.

    New ATU coming up?
     
  4. ChrisNell

    ChrisNell Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    511
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Silver Lakes, Pretoria
    For sure - better than doing the breakdance every time I do maintenance. Maybe I should not replace - this way I will keep my hands out of the sump and DT!
     
  5. rakabos

    rakabos

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2010
    Posts:
    5,006
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    Wilgeheuwel, JHB
    or just stand on a polystyrene box like the guys at exotics lol
     
  6. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,142
    Likes Received:
    1,228
    Location:
    Centurion
    one way to keep customers and their little kids hands out of the water.
     
  7. ChrisNell

    ChrisNell Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    511
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Silver Lakes, Pretoria
    To all sponsors - one ATU unit for sale (rated to leak 90V). Good price, only used once (for 2 years).
     
  8. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,142
    Likes Received:
    1,228
    Location:
    Centurion
    I'll swap you a heater, that leaks 132V. Bargain. Titanium shaft. Used many times, properly run in.
     
  9. lIghty

    lIghty

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    ENOUGH TO KILL!!!

    Please disconnect and remove the unit, before something happens.

    What unit is it?

    If you like I could modify it run 12V through the switch, you just pay for the necessary parts for the mod. Safety first!
     
  10. roderigo

    roderigo

    Joined:
    18 May 2011
    Posts:
    768
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Table view
    i prefer 220 to 12v as it is easy to know when you have a leak lol
     
  11. MistaOrange

    MistaOrange

    Joined:
    20 Jan 2010
    Posts:
    7,756
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Somewhere in Cape Town
  12. ChrisNell

    ChrisNell Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    511
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Silver Lakes, Pretoria
    Jip, very good thread that thanks.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Stray Voltage switch Forum Date
Stray Voltages (again) General Discussions and Advice 27 Sep 2012
Stray voltage General Discussions and Advice 16 Jul 2012
Stray voltage in your tank: You should be worried General Discussions and Advice 14 Apr 2010
Strays Infinity Aqua 220 Medium Tanks 17 Feb 2015
Stray electricity General Discussions and Advice 26 Aug 2013
Stray current Anything DIY Related 11 Mar 2008
54W LED unit, what should the voltage be? Lighting 26 Jan 2016