Stray current

Discussion in 'Anything DIY Related' started by Bayls, 11 Mar 2008.

  1. Bayls

    Bayls Not often called Junior!

    Joined:
    11 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    107
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    Hi
    I'm tired of getting shocked on the sensitive parts of my fingers when I put my hand in the water (and I'm not so sure its great for the livestock either). Is there any simple way of leading this stray current away from the tank?
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Mike

    Mike Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    12 May 2007
    Posts:
    7,859
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    the Motherland
    Yep, isolate each piece of equipment that goes into the tank, and using a test meter (as opposed to your self) test for stray current, once you know which bit of kit is unsafe, mend or replace.
    Just so you know, the fish won't feel that current, they are not earthed unlike you
     
  4. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    im sick n tired of looking for the cause of the stray current in my system.i just wear rubber sole shoes when working :lol: but im sure its comming from the lighing wires in the sump area
     
  5. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    I have noticed this as well and found it is normally the skimmer that is the cause.
     
  6. Alan

    Alan Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    5,974
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    KZN
    Normally the ballists from flourescent lighting give off stray current.
     
  7. SIMS

    SIMS

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    3,008
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Empangeni
    You have a TS4...I noticed that all 3 of my pumps were giving off stray current on my NEW skimmer...also a TS4
     
  8. SIMS

    SIMS

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    3,008
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Empangeni
    plug them out of the wall and see if the current is still there...
     
  9. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    Haven't noticed that but then i don't have my lights or ballast connected to my tank
     
  10. Alan

    Alan Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    5,974
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    KZN
    What?? off a new skimmer. What pumps do they have now?
     
  11. SIMS

    SIMS

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    3,008
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Empangeni
    the resun ones...I was also suprised...they were the last ones I unplugged because they were new. Funny thing it it is all 3...must say though I phoned scott and he said he also found it strange but would replace them right away. Got a ring from Marco the next day to say pumps are on thee way (got the skimmer from him) I have not pulled them out to check for visible cracks or anything but will do when I take em out.

    Alan is there anything we can do to test the current in the tank - I don't feel like using my self as the tester again...?
     
  12. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Hi SIMS - does your ReSun pumps have the 2-prong or 3-prong plugs on them?
     
  13. SIMS

    SIMS

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    3,008
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Empangeni
    3 prong
     
  14. Bayls

    Bayls Thread Starter Not often called Junior!

    Joined:
    11 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    107
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    i too suspect it is my skimmer pumps. Will have a properlook
     
  15. SIMS

    SIMS

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    3,008
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Empangeni
    what do you know!!! I wonder if my replacement pumps will be the same...must be a fault.
     
  16. Alan

    Alan Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    5,974
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    KZN
    Yip, take an electrical tester and place one probe in the aquarium and the other on an eath that is connected to house earth, you should have 0 volts or as close as dammit.
     
  17. SIMS

    SIMS

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    3,008
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Empangeni
    sory to be stupid (electronics aint my strong point) must I ask for an electrical tester at the shop? when you say house earth what do you mean?
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Stray current Forum Date
Strays Infinity Aqua 220 Medium Tanks 17 Feb 2015
Stray electricity General Discussions and Advice 26 Aug 2013
Stray Voltages (again) General Discussions and Advice 27 Sep 2012
Stray voltage General Discussions and Advice 16 Jul 2012
Stray Voltage from top-up switch Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers 2 Nov 2011
Stray voltage in your tank: You should be worried General Discussions and Advice 14 Apr 2010
Current running through tank Advanced Topics 7 Sep 2016