strartup questions

Discussion in 'New Members' started by dougstar, 20 Apr 2015.

1. dougstar

dougstar

hello masa
    my name is doug and i have been playing with water for the past +-5 years. it has all been fresh water and i have become a bit more curious about adding salt to my current setup. ill be honest i have been a bit scared would hate to get in over my head. so this is what i have to play with granted i know im very far far away from adding salt and sitting back to enjoying. so this is what i have [​IMG] 200cm L x 60cm W x 75cm H under the hood i have a 150cm L x 50cm W x 55cm H
    sump it has 5000l reefoctopus pump. the only other thing i have for a reef tank is a vortech mp40qd. i know would need new lighting skimmer. so heres my questions what will it cost to run per month a soft coral and fish setup just the basic setup to start and go from there?
    [​IMG]
    regards doug

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. dougstar

dougstar Thread Starter

or sell the lot and start fresh?

4. dallasg

dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

hi,

you can convert that tank easily
    you would need to add a protein skimmer, you can keep your CO2 etc for later.
    if you start with fish only you wont need to upgrade lights straight away

5. RiaanP

RiaanP Moderator

that tank will work.
    Skimmer, get the best you can afford.

Lights, can start with a secondhand T5 unit, for soft corals and fish. Can later move over to LEDS if you want to.

You also need some powerheads in the tank for more water movement. Cheap SunSun pumps to expensive Vortech pumps. Your decision again as each pump do have its place in the market.

Sump needs slight modification so that the last divider is also a flow over. And chuck the ceramic rings.
    Middle chamber is big enough for a DSB.

6. dougstar

dougstar Thread Starter