Storing RO water

Discussion in 'Water Parameters and Additives' started by cassie1, 24 Jan 2011.

1. cassie1

cassie1

What about normal RO water. For how long can you keep it in a contaigner before it goes off?

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Tobes

Tobes Retired Moderator

I'm not an RO expert, but I don't think something can go off if there is nothing in it to go off :p
    If the container is sealed properly so that nothing can get in and you keep it out of the sun, then I don't think anything can happen to it.

Maybe @The Waterboy - Marco can explain or give input?

Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  4. Nemos Janitor

Nemos Janitor

RO water is very quickly contaminated with irons from the atmosphere. It must be kept in a dark sealed container. There is also a thread somewhere on the issue.

5. ShaunSwindon

ShaunSwindon

I would say rather use fresh water. Leaving water standing around for even a day in a sealed container in the dark could still lead to problems in the future. I am no expert on water but logic says fresh is best :thumbup:

6. Tobes

Tobes Retired Moderator

So you're saying a compartment next to a sump containing RO used for auto top up is unsafe as it stays in there for sometimes a week depending on the size and the amount of evaporation?

7. Nemos Janitor

Nemos Janitor

Let me add a little more about RO water. Due to the process the water goes through the PH of the water is often slightly acidic due to the excess in dissolved CO2. It is this CO2 that makes the RO water very aggressive by attracting irons. These irons come from the atmosphere and any surface the water meets. This is why RO water needs to be stored in sealed airtight inert containers. The container does not necessarily need to be dark but light will start a bacterial growth normally Algae.

@Tobes it is recommended to have a lid on the top off tank to reduce the RO water contamination. Open tanks used as reservoirs are not a good idea.