Still in the setting up phase

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by theoholder, 20 May 2008.

  1. theoholder

    theoholder jelly Clown

    Joined:
    12 May 2008
    Posts:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    JHB
    Hi everyone, I have been reading and reading and reading... about the hobby and decided to start my first marine aquarium. I must say all of you here on MASA has helped me alot in setting up my aquarium.

    I am using all of sera's products for my aquarium.
    Now the question I have is: I bought the sera buff for marine aquariums, when I add this to the water and do a PH test after about 2 hours, the alkiny tests in the normal zone, but the PH drops from 8.4 to 7.4. Is this normal to happen, cause to me a sudden drop of that extend cannot be good.
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    A very WARM welcome to MASA Theo!

    At first, please post some pics of your aquarium, and tell us some more of the aquarium?
    - what size is it?
    - do you have a sump?
    - skimmer? brand?
    - water flow? what pumps and how much litres/hour?
    - lighting?
    - life rock? how many kg's?
    What life stock do you have in at the moment?

    No - it is not normal for your water's pH to drop. Buffer should increase the pH to a maximum of 8.2 - or decrease the pH to a maximum of 8.2.... Not less.

    The only time that the pH would drop SO MUCH, if something drastic happened and some acid was released into the tank.

    We usually suggest using either "sodium bicarbonate" (commonly known as: baking SODA)or "sodium carbonate" (commonly known as: washing soda)....

    These will increase your alkalinity of the tank, as well as increase the pH to a maximum of 8.2/8.3....
     
  4. theoholder

    theoholder Thread Starter jelly Clown

    Joined:
    12 May 2008
    Posts:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    JHB
    hi
     
  5. theoholder

    theoholder Thread Starter jelly Clown

    Joined:
    12 May 2008
    Posts:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    JHB
    I Have a 240L tank at the moment with a sump. The Tank is still new only 1 week old. Still lots to do on the tank I'll try and host pics. Currently I am getting a overflow rate of about 600L per hour. I am using a 2000L return pump but still need to do some more plumbing.
    [​IMG]
     
  6. theoholder

    theoholder Thread Starter jelly Clown

    Joined:
    12 May 2008
    Posts:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    JHB
    Here is the sump, I need to take out the bio balls and still add the DSB sand as I have reading here on MASA [​IMG]that Bio balls is not so good to use. Need to tidy up aswell, buying a Oak cabnet at the end of the month.
     
  7. Matt

    Matt MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    5 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    1,906
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    JHB
    theholder: your substrate looks very course! What is it? If the particle size is too large, it traps detritus and almost always results in nitrate issues in the long run.
    Try replace it with a much finer substrate - Aragonite if you can
     
  8. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    Welcome to MASA :)
    good thing you ditching the bioballs.at the same time remove the ceramic chips you got in the DSB compartment and replace with sugarfine sand eg. Aragonite or playsand
     
  9. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    sorry Matt,we posted together
     
  10. Matt

    Matt MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    5 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    1,906
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    JHB
    hehe
     
  11. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Theo - Matt - don't worry about REPLACING the substrate - just add another 5cm or so of playsand on top of the current substrate...

    Great skimmer you have there - TS1, and sump also look good....
     
  12. theoholder

    theoholder Thread Starter jelly Clown

    Joined:
    12 May 2008
    Posts:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    JHB
    It is Crushed corals I bought at the LFS. If I remove the bio balls and replace with Aragonite is a 10cm depth okey?
     
  13. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    DSB (Deep sand bed) = 10cm to 15cm

    So, yes - 10cm should be ok....
     
  14. shan

    shan

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2008
    Posts:
    689
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    centurion
    jacqueb - why you say that - would it not be better to remove the substrate in the tank and replace with playsand - this tank is new - better to do it now then have problems when you are fully set up.
     
  15. shan

    shan

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2008
    Posts:
    689
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    centurion
    oh - welcome theoholder - nice tank and skimmer you have there
     
  16. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Shan - below the 5cm from top mark everything is an-aerobic in any case. No detritus will get below the 1st 5 centimeters of the substrate..... Below the 1st 5cm of the substrate is where the nitrates are broken down to nitrogen and oxygen....

    Having a sugar fine substrate below that level has not real use.....

    The biggest reason why you don't want big particles on TOP (in the 1st 5 centimeters) of the DSB, is that the bigger the particles, the more detritus will be trapped in it, causing that nitrogen levels rise uncontrollably....
     
  17. Mike

    Mike Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    12 May 2007
    Posts:
    7,859
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    the Motherland
    firstley weclome to masa, secondly, i agree with Shan, get rid of that course stuff and replace with fine sand, it will pay dividends in the long run.
     
  18. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
  19. Alfie

    Alfie

    Joined:
    5 Oct 2007
    Posts:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Welcome to MASA. Your tank has still got to cycle. I would not worry about any test at this stage and adding additives is a complete waste.
     
  20. Alfie

    Alfie

    Joined:
    5 Oct 2007
    Posts:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Cape Town
    I agree with the guys regarding the substrate and the bio-balls must go. I would however add the substrate and DSB now as to prevent a cycle later again. I suppose the same can be said for LR. If you are going to add your LR later make sure it is well cured so as to prevent another cycle.
     
  21. sunburst

    sunburst

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Durban
    Welcome Theo:)
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Still setting phase Forum Date
Are the Radion Gen2 still good compared to other LED units available? Lighting 24 Jul 2015
Metal Halidea... Who has gone back or is still using them? Lighting 21 Apr 2015
Ph Pen electrode cleaning - Distilled vs RO water Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers 14 Feb 2015
Great stock still available at Idol Marine Idol Marine 18 Dec 2014
ISTA Multilayer Algae Scraper. Safe for acrylic and can still clean coralline a... Aquarium Depot 15 Oct 2014
Week 2 of cycling & still micro bubbles Nano Tank advice 26 Sep 2014
Still swimming with the Sea-Horses Other Livestock 24 Mar 2014