Sponges, Sycon

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by Brith, 29 Jul 2009.

1. Brith

Brith

Hi

I am a research technician at the international institute of marine molecular biology (SARS) in Bergen Norway.
    I am working on a type of these sponges, and I am supposed to grow them in a facility we are working on., which has never been done before. And then I see here all the people that have them in their tanks, so there must be hope for me to :)

Could anyone answer me on how they have built up there sump, what sand you have and where you got the live rock from.

Anything would be helpful as I am setting up two tropical tanks (Deep sand bed), aswell as an norwegian cold saltwater tank.

Cheers

Brith

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Mike

Mike Retired Moderator

Brith,
    To grow these sponges, simply set up a salt water tank as described in many threads here (there's a link in my thread) add live rock and wait - they will appear on their own in well maintained water conditions.

4. Brith

Brith Thread Starter

live rock

Well, thats the thing, they appear from nowhere :) so they follow with the live rock. So for the people that have them in their aquariums, where did you get your rock from?

5. viper357

viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

Welcome Brith

Live rock is harvested from various oceans (Kenya, Fiji, Indonesia etc.) and sold in most Pet Shops. We have a member that has just recently moved to Norway, I will send him a message and ask him to come onto this thread to help you.

6. Brith

Brith Thread Starter

Thanks

Thank you very much.

7. crispin

crispin

hello birth, i am from Lillehammer and sorry that I did not see this a little earlier as I have just spend the last week in bergen and could easily come to see you and chat about this. never mind, i travel around norway fairly often and i am sure the chance to meet up will come about.