Softies + Algae Scrubber

Reaction score
All

I may be barking up the wrong tree, but here goes. I added an algae scrubber to my system about two months ago. Rest of the system - 500l display, 240l sump, skimmer, DSB, lots of chaeto.

The algae scrubber working very, very well, and main display clean as can be - no algae, etc.

My problem is that is seems as if my softies, especially my 4 types of mushroom seems to be less healthy than before the scrubber. Much smaller, less extended. Can this be because of operation of the algae scrubber, maybe starving the mushrooms of certain food elements?

I am no expert, only being in this hobby for about 18 months, and would appreciate any comments or assistance.

Kind Regards
Chris

dallasg

Controversial Reefer, but knowledgeable!
Reaction score
Hi,

mudshark had a similar issue, Algae and its familes are consumers of iodine, so you would need to dose iodine with a iodine suppliment. once that has stabilised all will go back to normal. you should also test magnesium as some types of marine plants use this as a nutrient transport like we do in electrolytes.

Reaction score
Thanks for the responses.

I do dose some Iodine and Magnesium according the dosing instructions. No changes regarding lighting. I also do around 10% water changes per month.

Maybe I should stop the scrubber for a month or so, and see if the mushrooms do better?

Reaction score
Having same issue with my Nano, tested iodine before scrubber was set up and reading level was zero. But I have noticed a change in the look of my shrooms. Difficult to pin point as the shrooms in Mudsharks tank are fantastic. I am attributing there change to increased evaporation which is directly affecting salinity. My 2cents

Reaction score
My skimmer is in the first compartment, then heater, then DSB, then return chamber. (skimming very wet)