Softies + Algae Scrubber

Discussion in 'Soft Corals' started by ChrisNell, 25 Nov 2009.

1. ChrisNell

ChrisNell

All

I may be barking up the wrong tree, but here goes. I added an algae scrubber to my system about two months ago. Rest of the system - 500l display, 240l sump, skimmer, DSB, lots of chaeto.

The algae scrubber working very, very well, and main display clean as can be - no algae, etc.

My problem is that is seems as if my softies, especially my 4 types of mushroom seems to be less healthy than before the scrubber. Much smaller, less extended. Can this be because of operation of the algae scrubber, maybe starving the mushrooms of certain food elements?

I am no expert, only being in this hobby for about 18 months, and would appreciate any comments or assistance.

Kind Regards
    Chris

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. seank

seank

bump

4. Bob the (reef)builder

Bob the (reef)builder

Are there any other things that have changed.

Less water changes, feeding, lights, circ.

5. magman

magman

I am tagging along, I do sometimes think though we all either skimming too much or taking too much out with scrubbers. My skimmer is crap and underated, but my softies and lps do really well, I think plants need some fertiliser to grow though also.

6. dallasg

dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

Hi,

mudshark had a similar issue, Algae and its familes are consumers of iodine, so you would need to dose iodine with a iodine suppliment. once that has stabilised all will go back to normal. you should also test magnesium as some types of marine plants use this as a nutrient transport like we do in electrolytes.

7. ChrisNell

ChrisNell Thread Starter

Thanks for the responses.

I do dose some Iodine and Magnesium according the dosing instructions. No changes regarding lighting. I also do around 10% water changes per month.

Maybe I should stop the scrubber for a month or so, and see if the mushrooms do better?

8. mnd123

mnd123