Small beginnings...

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by Jordan Botha, 26 Apr 2015.

1. Jordan Botha

Jordan Botha

Hey guys!
    So this is my first post, and quite fittingly this will also be my first saltwater tank.

So I have recently decided that I NEED to have a saltwater tank, I grew up in CT but moved to JHB so I miss all the oceanic life and that 'sea' feeling.
    I plan on using my 160 litre tank to start my very first saltwater reef tank, I want some clown fish, some anemones etc etc. basically I want to get a coral reef tank with a population of some clown's (among others), lots of coral etc etc.
    So my question, among many, is what would be the best corals and fish to get. If your a complete newbie to saltwater? Here are some questions:
    *Are there any clown fish breeders where I could get a group of clown fish fry from, at a good price?
    *Any coral breeders where I could get some good beginner corals locally? (coral breeders/fragers, whatever you call yourselves)
    *would I be able to have maybe a small puffer or a trigger in that tank? Also tankmates for that colony of clowns?
    *I would like this setup to pay for itself as much as it can. So say selling the fry and fragged corals as to pay for fish food and chemicals etc.
    *lastly, I am not dead set on clowns so is there something else you guys can suggest that maybe you think would be a good beginners fish?

Oh I promise this is the last thing, how big of a budget should I plan if I have the tank already with cabinetry, I also plan to use a hang on filter or two with a filter In the main tank, this seem fine?

Thanks in advance,
    Jordan.

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. reefer101

reefer101 Archangel

Hi & Welcome :)

You should have a look at the breeding forum page to see how to raise clown fish fry

Beginner fish I would say ocellaris clowns, cardinals,