Skimmer on / off

Discussion in 'Chemical Filtration / Low Nutrient Systems - LNS' started by Sentari, 22 Nov 2010.

  1. Sentari

    Sentari

    Joined:
    15 May 2009
    Posts:
    2,084
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Weltevreden Park, Johannesburg
    Hi All

    Just wondering...

    I'm dosing MB7 at the moment and i always switch the skimmer off for 4 hours. Which is recommended.

    Then i dose a carbon source daily. My question here is should i switch my skimmer off for dosing. And also for how long?

    Another question is should i be running an airstone to combat the PH swing? If so for how long should i leave the skimmer off for? I havent yet tested to see if there is a PH swing but alot of people say there might be one.

    I just need to fetch my ph pen then i can test this.
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    Hi Sentari. Yes it is recommended to switch off the skimmer when dosing MB7, not a carbon source eg. Vodka. I never really switch of my skimmer when dosing supplements. I wouldnt bother running an air stone, let the swing be.
     
  4. Manic

    Manic Moderator

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    3,313
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Johannesburg, Edenvale
    I've never switched my skimmer off for dosing MB7. You put the MB7 in the tank so it has time to work and the carbon source gets put right into my zeo reactor.
     
  5. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,163
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    Centurion
    depends on the skimmer. Check the rotor unit. My old TS2 stripped the front white part loose because of switching it on and off. So not all pumps can be switched on and off - either daily and / or on timers. Including return pumps
     
  6. Sentari

    Sentari Thread Starter

    Joined:
    15 May 2009
    Posts:
    2,084
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Weltevreden Park, Johannesburg
    Thanks guys!

    So dosing should be done in the tank then and not the sump. Just wondering cause i'm currently dosing in the sump where my return is. Shouldnt make a difference.
     
  7. Sentari

    Sentari Thread Starter

    Joined:
    15 May 2009
    Posts:
    2,084
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Weltevreden Park, Johannesburg
    Its and OTP-2000.
     
  8. Manic

    Manic Moderator

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    3,313
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Johannesburg, Edenvale
    The only thing I dose in my sump is my calcium and alkalinity with dosing pumps and the vodka. The rest goes straight into the tank.
     
  9. Sentari

    Sentari Thread Starter

    Joined:
    15 May 2009
    Posts:
    2,084
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Weltevreden Park, Johannesburg
    Sweet thanks!
     
  10. Sentari

    Sentari Thread Starter

    Joined:
    15 May 2009
    Posts:
    2,084
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Weltevreden Park, Johannesburg
    Another question is will GAC remove bacteria / carbon source (vodka)? If so what do i do in a case like that?
     
    Last edited: 22 Nov 2010
  11. Tremayn

    Tremayn

    Joined:
    21 Mar 2010
    Posts:
    5,226
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Lenasia
    GAC removes free moving bacteria. I dose biodigest and I always switch the skimmer off in the night and put it back on in the morning every sunday when I dose and also take out the GAC and return it in the morning.

    Hows the mb7 going? I hear quite a few people complaining about it
     
  12. Tony

    Tony

    Joined:
    23 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    4,093
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Honeydew, Johannesburg
    Also bear in mind that an airstone doesnt only introduce oxygen. There is CO2 in the atmosphere already which is pumped through the airstone. You can add all supplements/vodka to the main display or a compartment in your sump that's separate/after your skimmer, whichever is feasable.
     
    RiaanP likes this.
  13. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,163
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    Centurion
    When I read this, its blatantly obvious. Thanks

    Also the skimmer will do the same, just suck up the air in the closed cabinet back into the skimmer.
     
  14. Tony

    Tony

    Joined:
    23 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    4,093
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Honeydew, Johannesburg
    Also true
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Skimmer Forum Date
[wtd] New Venturi skimmer pump +- 2000l - jhb Wanted Today at 16:44
Can a skimmer be too big Protein Skimmers, Mechanical Filtration Today at 05:50
[wtd] Skimmer for 500l - jhb Wanted Yesterday at 19:21
NP pellets and Skimmers General Discussions and Advice Tuesday at 18:55
Skimmer bubbles Advanced Topics Tuesday at 13:19
Overflowing skimmer Curve7 - 2 days Protein Skimmers, Mechanical Filtration Tuesday at 11:35
[wtd] Large skimmer 2000l and over Wanted 30 Nov 2016