Sigma 18-200mm Good lens?

Discussion in 'Photography' started by danimal, 1 Sep 2011.

1. danimal

danimal

Found a good deal online for the Sigma 18-200 F3.5-6.3. I've been looking for a general purpose zoom such as the 18-135 (I have a Canon 450D body) but not find anything that shouts great deal - until this one.

Anyone got any experience with this lens? I know it is not the most fantastic, but for me and my general purpose walking around photography it should be fine. Just need a few second opinions.

thanks
    Dan

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Tony

Tony

Nothing wrong with the lens. I've got a 300mm and a 500mm sigma lens and I've taken some crack pictures with them. They're not fast lenses in the sense that the aperture is 6.3 but in good lighting they take decent pics

4. Jeann1

Jeann1

I have one on my Nikon D3000. Works for me , but then again, I am a total noob at photography.

I have heard that its not bad for the price, naturally not the best, but also not the worst.

5. KeeganP

KeeganP

Hey man,

I think my dad has one of these he used on our old 350D, I will ask him, maybe you can try it out if you want or I think he might be selling it as well...

let me know.

6. danimal

danimal Thread Starter

awesome thanks guys - i bought it, deal was too good to let go.

woohoo!

7. Reef Maniac

Reef Maniac MASA Contributor

Great - so where's the first pics :whistling:

Hennie

8. KeeganP

KeeganP

:thumbup:

9. ReefMaster

ReefMaster

Hi there

The Canon 18-200 is better if this range lens suit your needs. Having used a similar lens, I wasnt happy with the sharpness and barrel distortion. I think you are better off with the 18-135mm if I had to choose between the two.