Setting up OR3500 to run dry

Discussion in 'Pumps and Waterflow' started by KevinW, 22 Dec 2007.

  1. KevinW

    KevinW

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    342
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Hillcrest
    Hi all,

    Have just built myself a new sump incorporating DSB etc. All was going great until it came time to put my return pumps into the chamber that I had made based on very careful and precise measurements of the chamber in my old sump. Problem is that my OR3500 has obviously grown since I took it out of the water and left it to dry out whilst I was putting everything together in the new sump. So now I have a return chamber that is great for the smaller return pump but does not take my OR3500. Given that the new sump only just fits into my filtration cabinet (have about 15mm to spare each side) and given that I will only take the new sump part and try again as a last resort, I was wondering if it is possible to set up the OR3500 just above the return chamber and draw the water up to the pump? Really hoping that somebody says yeah sure - thats easy........
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Kanga

    Kanga Retired Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    4,576
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    In the Koeberg blast radius
    Kevin, i think thats going to be real hard, how would you prime it. But I might be wrong.

    However I do have a suggestion.

    why not turn th pump on its end (i.e. the impellor facing up) and add a 90 degree bend on the outlet.

    Assuming it would fit like that

    HTH
     
  4. KevinW

    KevinW Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    342
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Hillcrest
    To easy - when you screw up you must to a good job to make sure that there are no easy solutions! Chamber is to narrow by about 6mm.
     
  5. Kanga

    Kanga Retired Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    4,576
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    In the Koeberg blast radius
    ouch sorry mate thats a K@k one

    let me think:whistling:
     
  6. Kanga

    Kanga Retired Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    4,576
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    In the Koeberg blast radius
    And you say no space to drill a hole through the sump, the plump the pump in?
     
  7. sunburst

    sunburst

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Durban
    Break the divider, make a bigger sand bed and use a bucket as the last chamber.
     
  8. KevinW

    KevinW Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    342
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Hillcrest
    Just built the new sump to make the DSB bigger - that is where this all started!

    No space on either side of the new sump - sits in a cupboard that has reinforced concrete walls and a reinforced slab over the top. That is why I was hoping that there is a way to put the return pump above the sump.
     
  9. sunburst

    sunburst

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Durban
    Dont put the bucket on the outside. Put it inside. Drain the new sump, pull it out the cupboard break the divider, put the bucket into the sand, and push it back in. This will be as effective as your last chamber, but will be circular and plastic
     
  10. KevinW

    KevinW Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    342
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Hillcrest
    Plan of sump attached. The water depth in the sump is set at 380mm. The channel running from the end of the DSB to the start of the LR chamber runs on top of the divider between those two chambers.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. KevinW

    KevinW Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    342
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Hillcrest
    Light bulb goes on!!! Thanks Sunburst. I will leave the smaller return pump in the chamber but put the OR into a bucket in the LR chamber. I owe you a beer or two!!
     
  12. Kanga

    Kanga Retired Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    4,576
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    In the Koeberg blast radius
    I cannot open that file type
     
  13. KevinW

    KevinW Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    342
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Hillcrest
    It is a sketchup file - only extension that I could find on the upload facility was the .kmz which is the sketchup 3D export format. Will try to convert it to jpg or something.
     
  14. KevinW

    KevinW Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    342
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Hillcrest
    [​IMG]
    PLAN VIEW
    Water route - Intake chamber - Skimmer - DSB - LR - Return chamber
     
  15. Kanga

    Kanga Retired Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    4,576
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    In the Koeberg blast radius
    tried opening as sketchup no luck.

    Try this

    hit the file tab, go to export

    export as 2D

    and it will save as Jpeg
     
  16. Kanga

    Kanga Retired Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    4,576
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    In the Koeberg blast radius
    oops to late:)

    nee d@nder,

    a smaller pump?
     
  17. KevinW

    KevinW Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    342
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Hillcrest
    Yeah thought of that but need the turnover that I get from teh 3500. Will try Sunbursts' suggestion and,if that does not work, I will be looking for something. Any suggestions?
     
  18. sunburst

    sunburst

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Durban
    Holding thumbs, sending karma. Keeping some ears while waiting for my beers:whistling:
     
  19. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,983
    Likes Received:
    778
    I bought a RIO hyperflow pump from Andrew, they are considerably smaller than the OR pumps and they work fantastically well. If you want I can give you all the info on mine like flowrate and dimensions so you can see if it will fit or not.
     
  20. KevinW

    KevinW Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    342
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Hillcrest
    Thanks, Sounds good Viper. Please send the info.
     
  21. Reef Maniac

    Reef Maniac MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    15 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,899
    Likes Received:
    112
    Location:
    Bloemfontein
    Wow, you must have one enormous gigantic sump - the attached plan opened up in GOOGLE EARTH :baffled:

    [​IMG]


    :roflmao: :chatterbox: :chatterbox:

    Hennie
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Setting OR3500 Forum Date
Setting Up A Quarantine Tank Quarantine Tanks, sick fish, QT corals 1 Nov 2016
Setting up a reeftank Beginners 10 Nov 2015
setting up my tank New Members 28 Sep 2015
Shallow tank Pacific sun Settings Lighting 30 Mar 2015
Setting up a fw tank Fresh Water Tanks Discussion 23 Feb 2015
Help setting eheim heater Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers 10 Apr 2014
Marc van Jaarsveldt setting up the new 45 Starfire with LED planted tank on the... JungleAquatics.NET BLOG 25 Jan 2014