Setting up NEW TANK (HELP!!!)

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by Mad_Max, 14 May 2010.

  1. Mad_Max

    Mad_Max

    Joined:
    14 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pretoria
    Hi,
    I just bought Manic's tank in the For Sale Forum called: Bargain Sale!!! TL-550 for sale: JHB.

    So now the problem. I have a TL 450 running for +- 3 years already and want to transfer all to the new tank. How do I do this to minimize a new cycle in the new tank?

    My idea is:
    1. Setup new tank.
    2. Add 20l new SW. Run pumps + skimmer from old tank.
    3. Transfer some live rock and 20l from old tank. Run for a few hours
    4. Transfer rest from old tank and run for a day.
    5. Fill up with new SW.

    Am I over complicating things here?

    Or should I take is slow?
    1. Setup new tanks fresh with new SW and live rock. Add 10l water plus cup of sand from old tank and let it cycle as normal.
    2. After +-4 weeks (parameters pending) transfer rest from old tank.

    Current stock in old tank is:
    8kg live rock
    Pulsing Xena
    Zoas/Buttons
    Kenya tree
    Small frag of Monti
    Shrooms
    Harry mushroom
    2 Ricordia
    1 BTA and a baby clone BTA (Had them for 2 years already)
    1 Clarki
    1 Bi-color blenny
    1 hiding mantis

    I am mostly worried for my BTA's as they require mature tanks.

    All help will be appreciated!
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    i did your option A and it worked for me, i even transfered most of he gravel too.
    also i used stability and mbacter7 to help with the bioload.

    try and use as much of your old water as possible and it should be fine.

    just make sure the new water is the same temp, ph and salinity as your old water, and leave the lights off for a few hours to reduce stress etc.
     
  4. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,987
    Likes Received:
    780
    Agree with Dallas. Seachem Stability will be your friend in this process. ;)
     
  5. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    and its only about 50L or so of new water like a water change, you could also add more LR
     
  6. robertkukla

    robertkukla

    Joined:
    23 Mar 2010
    Posts:
    969
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Minnabron , JHB
    ive also done option A it worked for me
     
  7. Mad_Max

    Mad_Max Thread Starter

    Joined:
    14 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pretoria
    Option A looks like a winner. Will get some Seachem Stability
     
  8. Manic

    Manic Moderator

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    3,313
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Johannesburg, Edenvale
    I'll bring some sand from my one deep sand bed that has been running for like 2 years now. Stability and maybe some purigen will work perfectly. I moved all my live stock from this tank into my new tank and nothing died. As long as you move the live rock without taking it out the water for long then you will be fine.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Setting TANK (HELP Forum Date
Setting Up A Quarantine Tank Quarantine Tanks, sick fish, QT corals 1 Nov 2016
Setting up a reeftank Beginners 10 Nov 2015
setting up my tank New Members 28 Sep 2015
Shallow tank Pacific sun Settings Lighting 30 Mar 2015
Setting up a fw tank Fresh Water Tanks Discussion 23 Feb 2015
Marc van Jaarsveldt setting up the new 45 Starfire with LED planted tank on the... JungleAquatics.NET BLOG 25 Jan 2014
Setting up a sump for a 500l Tank Anything DIY Related 24 Nov 2012