RW 15's too strong ?

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by Skumbuza, 16 Sep 2014.

  1. Skumbuza

    Skumbuza

    Joined:
    11 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    128
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Queensburgh, Durban
    Hey there Guys...
    I've bought myself a pair of RW 15's for my 1500mm x 600mm tank...
    The tank is newly setup so i haven't introduced corals as yet.
    These wavemakers seem to be throwing the fish around even on its lowest of settings. Is it natural or do you think these units are a tad overkill for my size tank ?


    :kangakiller:
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. ReefStudent

    ReefStudent

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2013
    Posts:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vanderbijlpark
    Hi @Skumbuza

    I have a pair of the WP40s in a 1200mm x 600mm tank, on the W1 setting my tank is gently pulsing about.

    This might differ with the new pumps as I havent used them yet.
    I also think the depth of your tank and the placement of rock plays a vital role, but that is my opinion and I will leave that to be verified by the experts

    :thumbup:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  4. CameL

    CameL

    Joined:
    16 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    Primrose Hill, JHB
    How long have the fish been in with those pumps ?
    It could take some time for the fish to acclimate to the flow
     
  5. ascheff

    ascheff

    Joined:
    21 Oct 2013
    Posts:
    391
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Weltevredenpark
    I had a similar problem with my WP25 in my 600 rimless cube.

    Set too high it would push water over the top. Too low and I would get a sand storm (I have a fine sand substrate). Plus my Banggais were pushed into a corner.

    My sollution was to set it on the lowest adjustable, non random wave, and half behind a rock to partly block the stream. A dumb sollution, as I'm missing out on the random flows, the reason I got it.


    Other options I looked at was either swapping for a less powerful model, or cutting the grille to modify the flow, neither an ideal solution.

    I have now finally found a solution that works; a different DC power supply. Mine came with a 24V, so I found one from some old PC equipment that's 16V with the right connector, that almost gives the right speed, even on "else" mode. I've now ordered one online, that can be set between 12V and 24V, which should allow me to find the perfect speed on any setting. I should get it today.
     
  6. Dian6430

    Dian6430

    Joined:
    22 May 2013
    Posts:
    1,386
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Tsitsikamma EC
    Im running 2xrw15s on a 150x55x50 tank without problems. Running the one on 3 strength and W1 and the other one on W1 and strength 1. Also have them on master and slave so they run on the same time
     
  7. Zuna

    Zuna

    Joined:
    17 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    810
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Regents Park (JHB South)
    I've got wp40 and rw15 in 1m cube.
    I pushed the pumps lower in the tank and position them so that face upwards
     
  8. Skumbuza

    Skumbuza Thread Starter

    Joined:
    11 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    128
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Queensburgh, Durban
    Hey guys ! So sorry i've been away for a day or so...
    Thanks so much for your responses.
    The fish i have, have been in there for about a month. I could see the fish getting used to the current. Especially that there is a night function on them. Im just concerned that when i start to introduce corals to the tank, they are going to get blown to bits.
    I do start to wonder tho, that there are some people like Dian6430 that is running them with no problem in a tank nearly the same size. I was thinking of selling them and getting the rw8's (They wouldnt be so chunky in size too), however i do quite like ascheff's idea of providing them with less power, giving them less strength. If there is anybody that has any more input, i'd be greatly appreciated. Thanks again for all your responses chaps !
     
  9. Dian6430

    Dian6430

    Joined:
    22 May 2013
    Posts:
    1,386
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Tsitsikamma EC
    Rather go for the rw8s as i think if you run a different power supply it will void your warranty. Also dont use the night function as that makes them stronger and a constant flow that is if you are running them on a low setting
     
  10. JS

    JS

    Joined:
    16 Jan 2012
    Posts:
    1,795
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth
    Jebao is selling 12v powersupplies to half the power....i ordered 2...as my rw 8 s are too strong on 24v to use all the functions
     
  11. Skumbuza

    Skumbuza Thread Starter

    Joined:
    11 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    128
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Queensburgh, Durban
    Sweet guys ! thanks so much ! Not so worried about the warranty.. will halve the power and see what difference it makes !
     
  12. ascheff

    ascheff

    Joined:
    21 Oct 2013
    Posts:
    391
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Weltevredenpark
    I also wasn't too worried about the warranty, although I don't really think the power supply will affect it, seeing as Jebao / FS sells it too, which also isn't made by them.

    Here's the one I got, off Bid or Buy, which is working great so far:

    [​IMG]


    .
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - 15's strong Forum Date
RW15's placement? Pumps and Waterflow 9 Dec 2015
Standard store stand strong enough? Anything DIY Related 29 Mar 2015
[wtd] strong DC uplift pump Wanted 20 May 2014
Stand strong enough? Overkill? General Discussions and Advice 19 Nov 2012
Floor strong enough - any civils? Anything DIY Related 20 Dec 2011
Strong men wanted General Discussions and Advice 26 Jan 2011
Strong Rand One Euro Nill inline with world cup Tunze SA 6 Jul 2010