Running Carbon

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by Goby, 5 Oct 2009.

  1. Goby

    Goby

    Joined:
    3 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    563
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Vanderbijlpark
    Helooo all MASA members. Hope you all had a GR8 weekend!!

    I want to run active carbon on my system. I want to put the carbon in a filter bag and pull it over the overflow pipe and let the overflow water run straight through. Will my DSB loose beneficial bacteria when i do this?
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. brentnorm

    brentnorm

    Joined:
    6 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    2,198
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Cape Town

    Is there any specific reason that you want to run carbon ?
     
  4. Midasblenny

    Midasblenny

    Joined:
    11 May 2007
    Posts:
    855
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Randburg-Gauteng
    The fine silt and detritus from the main display will block the minute `holes` in the carbon reducing its efficacy, unless there is some kind of pre-filter before like a floss mat.
     
  5. Goby

    Goby Thread Starter

    Joined:
    3 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    563
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Vanderbijlpark
    water is very mercy and i want to reduce natural organic compounds for better water quality and clarity. if i may ask, what would be your main reason for running carbon?
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Running Carbon Forum Date
running carbon all the time Boyu TL450 and TL550 advice 27 Jun 2011
[wtd] Small running tank Wanted 22 Sep 2016
Current running through tank Advanced Topics 7 Sep 2016
Running cost? Beginner Discussions 20 Jul 2016
Cost of Running a Chiller General Discussions and Advice 1 Feb 2016
Finally my tank is running. General Discussions and Advice 10 Dec 2015
running skimmer while cycling. Protein Skimmers, Mechanical Filtration 25 May 2015