RSM skimmer help needed (RSM owners)

Discussion in 'Protein Skimmers, Mechanical Filtration' started by Floyd, 3 Jun 2013.

  1. Floyd

    Floyd

    Joined:
    10 Dec 2012
    Posts:
    370
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Polokwane
    Hi,

    I'm having a RSM 250 that has been running for a few months now. All of the sudden I started losing some of my Lps.

    All my water parameters are in tact. Nitrate 2, phos 0.03, mag 1260, calc 460, Alk 9.9, ph 8.1, SG 1.025, temp25.

    I would like to know whether it can be that I'm over skimming, etc? Or what can be the problem?:eek:

    I opened the skimmer tap/ controller wider otherwise I have micro bubbles @Bendor, I noted that you converted yours to a normal green 'tap').

    Your assistance will be greatly appreciated

    @tekkengal, @Bendor, @Louise, @tokolosh, @Mr Smith
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. carlosdeandrade

    carlosdeandrade

    Joined:
    24 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    8,230
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    North Riding, Jozi
    Is the skimmate wet? I had a RSM250 once and those stock skimmers are not the greatest.
     
  4. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    i dont think its the skimmer, can you explain the losses, just lps?
    params look good, how is the light? are you feeding the corals?
     
  5. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    what type of LPS corals?
     
  6. tekkengal

    tekkengal Moderator

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2010
    Posts:
    2,372
    Likes Received:
    298
    Location:
    JHB
    I agree with @dallasg as in I don't think it is the skimmer.
    The most important parameters right now are your NO2 (nitrite) and ammonia readings which you need to provide. I suspect that those readings may be out. I lost a few LPS corals a few months back because those parameters spiked.

    Are you running the stock filtration (ceramic rings and sponges)?
    Also, post a pic of your skimmer settings in the interim in case it is your skimmer. How is the skimmate that it is producing?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  7. Bendor

    Bendor

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2011
    Posts:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Pietermaritzburg
    Agreed.

    Nitrate and nitrite levels?

    I think you said before all sponges and ceramics removed. Running cubes, chemipure and carbon if I am not mistaken.

    Most people struggle to skim properly with the rsm. Over skimming is very unlikely.

    You may have spiked nitrates or if you ar running lots of cubes and not feeding enough you may have no nitrates at all. Also not a lps favourite but I don't know that they would die. Maybe just all a bit from no nitrates.
     
    Last edited: 3 Jun 2013
  8. Floyd

    Floyd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    10 Dec 2012
    Posts:
    370
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Polokwane
    It's my hammers. Te green oe died and the pink is not doing well at all.

    I replaced all the lights with ATI's.
     
  9. Floyd

    Floyd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    10 Dec 2012
    Posts:
    370
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Polokwane
    It's not too wet.

    Ver difficult to say, I'm allowing for pressure only to come up slightly. Hope I'm not confusing you:(
     
  10. Floyd

    Floyd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    10 Dec 2012
    Posts:
    370
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Polokwane
    I didn't test for nitrite and ammonia. Shoud I buy those tests? I only have the following tests: nitrate, Phos, Alk, Calc and Mag.

    I replaced all ceramic rings and sponges. I'm running reactor with bio pellets, orca cubes and carbon in the one compartment next to skimmer. Skimmate brownish colour.

    What about Purigen?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  11. Floyd

    Floyd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    10 Dec 2012
    Posts:
    370
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Polokwane

    I didn't test for nitrite and ammonia. Shoud I buy those tests? I only have the following tests: nitrate, Phos, Alk, Calc and Mag.

    I replaced all ceramic rings and sponges. I'm running reactor with bio pellets, orca cubes and carbon in the one compartment next to skimmer. Skimmate brownish colour

    My nitrates increased from 0 to 2. I'm maintaining my Phos at 0.03.

    Can it be reacted to nutrition levels?
     
  12. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    Well did the corals start to decline after bulb change? Maybe light shock

    If you replaced all the rings and sponge in one go you need to test for ammonia and nitrite, that's the biological filter
     
  13. Floyd

    Floyd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    10 Dec 2012
    Posts:
    370
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Polokwane
    Can I dose special blend and nite out?

    What other proposals do you have?

    My open brain, frogspawn and others are doing well. My frogspawn even developed another head:).
     
  14. Floyd

    Floyd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    10 Dec 2012
    Posts:
    370
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Polokwane
    Lights were replaced prior to adding the Lps and most coral. I replaced the filtering system mid January 2013. Only placed coral in mid Feb 2013.

    After replacing the filtering system, there was a spike in parameters which came under control once pellets and orca activated after few days/ weeks.
     
  15. tekkengal

    tekkengal Moderator

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2010
    Posts:
    2,372
    Likes Received:
    298
    Location:
    JHB
    I had a read through your tank thread looking at the age of your filtration system; I don't think your tank parameters could be off. It sounds more like a coral disease than anything else. Can you put up a pic of the sick coral? I would still test the nitrite and ammonia levels just to be sure though.
     
  16. carlosdeandrade

    carlosdeandrade

    Joined:
    24 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    8,230
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    North Riding, Jozi
    Not at all. :thumbup:;)
     
  17. Floyd

    Floyd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    10 Dec 2012
    Posts:
    370
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Polokwane
    Will add pic in te morning.

    I used the Red Sea kit that I bought te tank with.

    Nitrite 0,05 ( it has the following levels 0, 0.05 and 0.1)

    Ammonia 0.25 (0, o.25, 0.5 and1)

    What should I do to decrease these parameters?
     
  18. tekkengal

    tekkengal Moderator

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2010
    Posts:
    2,372
    Likes Received:
    298
    Location:
    JHB
    Those readings are high, I would do a water change to dilute it; maybe a 20% and above change? (experts will need to comment). Use the special blend accordingly as well. Purigen should have helped though, where have you placed it?
    Please post your coral pics up tomorrow to see if it is water parameter related or if it is a disease.

    You have a nice selection of corals btw :)
     
  19. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    Dose what you have, special blend etc
    You can get seachem prime or prodibio stopammo
    Don't panic, and test about 2 hours after dosing
     
  20. Floyd

    Floyd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    10 Dec 2012
    Posts:
    370
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Polokwane
    Did a 15% WC.

    Purigen in same compartment with pellet reactor, carbon, orca (next to skimmer) I also have an airstone in there. I will use special blend and nite out.

    Will post pic (I'm still at work). I dont think its water parameters, as all my other coral are happy and doing well, it's only the hammers.

    Thanks, I really like a tank with colour.
     
  21. Floyd

    Floyd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    10 Dec 2012
    Posts:
    370
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Polokwane
    Thanks, will do.

    Will dose special blend and nite out.

    I have another product Stop Ammo vials (bought with tank), you think I can dose it before Special blend?

    Already did a 15% WC. Will do another 25% WC on Saturday.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - skimmer help needed Forum Date
Skimmer help needed urgently!!! General Discussions and Advice 2 Dec 2012
Help needed regarding skimmer. Boyu TL450 and TL550 advice 23 Jan 2012
Help needed to fix skimmer Protein Skimmers, Mechanical Filtration 22 Jun 2011
Help needed identifying skimmer and rating Protein Skimmers, Mechanical Filtration 15 Jun 2011
Skimmer Pump Help Pumps and Waterflow 16 Feb 2016
Help with skimmer Protein Skimmers, Mechanical Filtration 7 Feb 2016
Need help on a skimmer Protein Skimmers, Mechanical Filtration 29 Sep 2015