Ross' Reef

Reaction score
Today I am very excited, I can finally join the ranks of the big boy tanks as I ordered my new tank. I have been battling with my Nano for about 3 months now with GHA and Cayno (Funny thing is it is since my Nano was TOTM, do you think it was jinxed) and very little coral growth so after my deliberating and discussions we decided to go bigger and better.

My requirements was a rimless, starfire tank with a neat and tidy setup.

The tank will be 1200 x 800 x 600 rimless, with a 300 x 300 chamfer on the front right corner. Glass will be 16mm laminated starfire.

Sump and stand will be custom built to suit the tank size.

I have retained Adriaan from Idol Marine to do the whole job for me.
This means I will be using the 'Idol Marine' overflow on the left short side of the tank.

Yesterday I purchased a new Reefoctopus OCTX-200 skimmer that will be modified to be external. A Reefoctopus CR-100 calcium reactor. 2 x 300 watt Jager heaters. I will be using my current Reefoctopus KS-1 kalk reactor and TwoLittle Fishies PO reactor. Return and closed loop will be provided by 2 x Aqua Medic Oceanrunner 3500 pumps.

I am seriously considering going BB (or maybe a super fine layer of substrate). The closed loop will run under my live rock islands.

Internal circulation will eventually be provided by 2 x Vortech pumps. For now my current SunSun and Seio pumps will be in charge of circulation.

Lighting is another story, I am thinking of 2 x 250 MY and some T-5 but I have had enough of a hard time this week deciding about the tank and will work on lighting ideas when the tank is under construction.

Last edited:
Reaction score
It sounds awesome Ross, as well as it costing a pretty penny. but i'm glad you chose to go bigger, bigger is always better;) not for the wallet but hey, its awesome. good luck with the build Ross!

dallasg

Reaction score
congrats, should be great, remember pics when it all starts arriving :)