Rookie of rookies

Discussion in 'New Members' started by PeetWhite, 31 Dec 2011.

1. PeetWhite

PeetWhite

Hi All,

my name is Peet and i'm very new to this. A year ago I thought I'd start with an aquarium, but chickened out after reading up on how fragile the sytem is. A whole year has passed, but couldn't shake the desire to at least try it.

So yesterday I decided to give it a go. I dont have to space for a big tank and decided on, what I think is called a nano tank. It's a chinese made 80L tank; HaiYang M-500 Marine Aquarium. It's perfect for my townhouse and everything is neatly hidden away in the back. Now I know that the experts would problaby say its NOT the best system to buy, but I figured one must able to do something with it. If I dont succeed, at least I can say I tried and failed, opposed to never trying at all. LOL

My main goal would be a reef tank, max 2 fish, but I like the little shrimps and crabs. Hopefully this tank I bought, would suffice.

Some pics:
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Skimmer thingy:
    Whilst on this, it has this pipe coming out of it with a plastic cap on the end. Must this be submerged in the water or does it need to suck air?
    [​IMG]

Filter:
    It has 3 layers filled with white bits.
    [​IMG]

At the moment it there's not a lot going on. I filled it with water that i filtered using a aquarium water purifier. (got it for free with the unit). Added the salt and now letting it settle. Oh, its 1 day old.

What are my next steps? Do i now leave it for a week or 2? When should I add the live rock? Whats tests must i perform in the meantime? I do check the salinity, but not to sure what else. Any help would be appreciated.

This question is still a bit premature, but I just have to know. When adding shrimps and crabs, do you have to have fish? Or can you have a reef with just those little critters?