RO Water vs My Tap water

dallasg

Moderator
Joined
14 Dec 2008
Posts
16,850
Reaction score
615
Location
Sandton
hi all,

so i have a RO unit that makes 0tds, i added the tunze calcium thingy, and get a tds of 10, now my tap water has a tds of 15, when i fill my 1500L system, can i use the tap water for the cycle period, doing water changes with RO water to eventually swop out the tap water, or just leave it as is.

thanks
 
Joined
18 Oct 2007
Posts
6,377
Reaction score
70
Location
capetown,durbanville
just remember that whatever you put in your tank will seep into your liverock and lie in your substrate and dsb. imho try and keep whatever you put in your tank as 'pure' as possible. that way you wont haveto deal with the possible outbreaks from the additional nutrients or use chemicals to remove later(ro cheaper than phosguard etc)
 

dallasg

Moderator
Joined
14 Dec 2008
Posts
16,850
Reaction score
615
Location
Sandton
thanks, was just asking as even though the diff is 5, would such a small diff be that bad
 

Neil H

Retired Moderator
Joined
11 May 2008
Posts
2,794
Reaction score
58
Location
JHB
Only bad things happen quickly in marines ........ Take your time and use your RO machine!
 
Joined
18 Oct 2007
Posts
6,377
Reaction score
70
Location
capetown,durbanville
i think a few tests would determine phosphates etc. remember five percent difference is actually a thirty three percent increase!
 

dallasg

Moderator
Joined
14 Dec 2008
Posts
16,850
Reaction score
615
Location
Sandton
thanks guys
 
Joined
22 Jan 2008
Posts
12,223
Reaction score
162
Location
Lilliehammer, Norway
besides that TDS, TOTAL dissolved solids.....do u actually know what the 33% increase is? Not worth the risk in my view. RO seem to be a good system to me, but then so do skimmers:)
 

dallasg

Moderator
Joined
14 Dec 2008
Posts
16,850
Reaction score
615
Location
Sandton
hahaha
 

dallasg

Moderator
Joined
14 Dec 2008
Posts
16,850
Reaction score
615
Location
Sandton
i am bored :)

but always good to learn things :) why i asked is that i filled with tap water to test plumbing etc, and dont feel like emptying 1500L :)
 

dallasg

Moderator
Joined
14 Dec 2008
Posts
16,850
Reaction score
615
Location
Sandton
almost my own boss :)
 

Tobes

Retired Moderator
Joined
30 Nov 2007
Posts
9,482
Reaction score
119
Location
A Beautiful place!
The TDS is important yes, but there are also other chemicals in the tap water like chlorine that the counsel add to remove all the chemicals humans add :whistling:
The carbon and other media in the RO unit removes that :)
 

dallasg

Moderator
Joined
14 Dec 2008
Posts
16,850
Reaction score
615
Location
Sandton
let me clarify why i asked, i used tap water to test if my system all works, no leaks etc and didnt really want to waste the 1500L of water there is in it, so was just seeing how bad it could be seeing as it had 5 more than my RO which is mostly calcium :)
 
Joined
25 Sep 2008
Posts
1,123
Reaction score
72
Location
Fourways
Dallas,

From the tap water I've tested in Woodmead & Buccleuch , the PO4 value was less than 0.05 , Nitrate = 5 and a TDS reading of approx 20ppm

Problem would be the contamination with heavy metals such as lead , copper etc. and then of course there are silicates.

You could probably test for all of these and take a chance , but I wouldn't .

IMHO , I'd rather dump the 1500l of tap water or use it for some other purpose, than spend huge amounts of money later in combatting water problems in the tank.

Just My 2c;)
 

dallasg

Moderator
Joined
14 Dec 2008
Posts
16,850
Reaction score
615
Location
Sandton
thanks, i think i will use it to water the complex gardens :)
might be a little salty :)
 

dallasg

Moderator
Joined
14 Dec 2008
Posts
16,850
Reaction score
615
Location
Sandton
hmmm that sounds like a great idea, will def give that a try
 

Top