RO unit's

Discussion in 'Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers' started by KeeganP, 28 Feb 2015.

  1. KeeganP

    KeeganP

    Joined:
    23 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    53
    Howsit guy's,

    I know somebody is going to pull out their hair
    For me asking this, but I'm a total noob with RO systems.

    Anyway I know you get RO units for household use and
    Marine tank use,

    Question is, what's the difference and can a household unit be used and just swap the membrane to a marine RO unit membrane... ?

    Thanks guys
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. TaahirS

    TaahirS MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    10 Jul 2014
    Posts:
    2,585
    Likes Received:
    284
    Location:
    Cape Town (southern suburbs)
    As long as it's giving out 0 Tds water if will be fine.
     
  4. Johan123

    Johan123

    Joined:
    31 Dec 2012
    Posts:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Honeydew
    some household units add minerals back into the product water if you remove that stage and the water test 0 tds it will be perfect
     
  5. Nemeziz_za

    Nemeziz_za

    Joined:
    25 Sep 2012
    Posts:
    1,584
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Durbanville, (Cpt)
    I doubt you will get zero TDS out of a standard household system.

    However, this is all started by testing the source water out of your tap. (Your normal Municipal water)

    A general point on the household RO systems vs. Dedicated reef systems is really a question of does the RO system have a storage tank as part of its design? Normally these storage tanks leech over time and create a problem for reefers.

    However best thing you could do is test the output water with a TDS pen.
     
    KeeganP likes this.
  6. JS

    JS

    Joined:
    16 Jan 2012
    Posts:
    1,795
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth
    I run a converted housebold unit...i use the first 3 stages...which are all three exactly as the reef ro units...sediment...carbon....ro membrane....i then added a two way tap in after this stage....added a di resin pod....and get 0tds....when i use for houshold....i turn the valve....it goes through the mineral and taste etc filters....works great
     
    KeeganP likes this.
  7. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    i have done the same

    cost me like R900
     
    KeeganP likes this.
  8. KeeganP

    KeeganP Thread Starter

    Joined:
    23 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    53
    Thanks for the feedback guys.
     
  9. Rabbid dawg

    Rabbid dawg

    Joined:
    5 Dec 2013
    Posts:
    84
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Pretoria
    Where do you guys get a RO unit for so cheap?
     
  10. KeeganP

    KeeganP Thread Starter

    Joined:
    23 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    53
    I think @dallasg meant it cost him R900 to convert the household RO
    system for both Marine and Household use.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  11. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    nope cost me R900 to buy one
     
  12. KeeganP

    KeeganP Thread Starter

    Joined:
    23 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    53
    Then can you please answer @Rabbid dawg question... :thumbup:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  13. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    puritech in samrand, it was over a year ago
     
    KeeganP likes this.
  14. KeeganP

    KeeganP Thread Starter

    Joined:
    23 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    53
    Thank you.
     
Recent Posts