Ro unit float switch

Discussion in 'Wanted' started by Penny, 23 Jul 2014.

  1. Penny

    Penny

    Joined:
    20 May 2013
    Posts:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edenvale.
    Hi
    I am looking for a way to add a mechanical float switch to my RO tank, the float awitch should shut off the incoming supply to the RO unit and not the filtered water.
    Anyone know of an inline float switch, or how to do this.
    Thanks.
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Dian6430

    Dian6430

    Joined:
    22 May 2013
    Posts:
    1,386
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Tsitsikamma EC
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  4. Andre@ReefAquatics

    Andre@ReefAquatics Sponsor

    Joined:
    18 Dec 2012
    Posts:
    2,655
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Durbanville
    @Penny, you don't shut off the supply to to your RO, the pieces you need will be:

    1) Float switch to turn off water RO when your tank is full Stops RO production when you tank is full
    2) RO Auto shut off value - Shuts off water running out at waste
    2) In the line of your incoming supply you will install a pressure reducing value (PRV) Ensures no pressure build up inside RO unit and limits the feed tap water supply to 40psi

    This will result in a fully automated top of system.

    Give us a shout if you need more help.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  5. ScottK

    ScottK

    Joined:
    16 May 2011
    Posts:
    766
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    @Andre@ReefAquatics

    Where do you install the RO shut off valve and why do you need to reduce the pressure on the incoming side?

    Please can you PM me a price on both :)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  6. Andre@ReefAquatics

    Andre@ReefAquatics Sponsor

    Joined:
    18 Dec 2012
    Posts:
    2,655
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Durbanville
    Basically this clever piece of kit shuts off water to your membrane.

    @ScottK , see red answers above.

    Here is how to connect the the Auto Shut off Valve, (courtesy from Google so I did not have to sketch it):

    [​IMG]

    Also see out RO Auto Shut Off Conversion Kits here:

    RO Unit Auto Shut off conversion Kit | Reef Aquatics, Online Aquarium Store in Cape Town, reef aquarium equipment, marine fish and corals

    The auto shut off valve installed:

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  7. Christo

    Christo

    Joined:
    4 Jun 2008
    Posts:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    Vaalpark, Vaaltriangle

    That Google Diagram does not seem to be correct! Thats not the way the flow thru valve is!!

    The PIC of the installation seems fine!!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  8. Andre@ReefAquatics

    Andre@ReefAquatics Sponsor

    Joined:
    18 Dec 2012
    Posts:
    2,655
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Durbanville
    Well spotted the switch need to be rotated 90degs
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - unit float switch Forum Date
[wtd] RO unit wanted Wanted 26 Nov 2016
[wtd] Broken or unused led unit Wanted 21 Nov 2016
[wtd] R.O. Unit Wanted 29 Oct 2016
[wtd] ATI 6 or 8 bulb 39w unit Wanted 17 Oct 2016
RO unit waste water used for freshwater aquarium? General Discussions and Advice 7 Oct 2016
Decent 24w 2 bulb t5 unit? Lighting 5 Oct 2016
[wtd] Complete calcium reactor unit will all bells and whistles Wanted 22 Sep 2016