RO unit connections

Discussion in 'Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers' started by Titus, 24 Jul 2014.

  1. Titus

    Titus Reefneck!

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2007
    Posts:
    320
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Victory Park, JHB
    Hey gang,

    I have a stupid question, which in a way for me is fairly fundamental before I setup my tank.

    I live in a flat with none of the normal run of the mill garden taps with standard fixtures around. My taps in the house dont have any threads on the them. So I need to know how these RO units connect up to a tap in terms of physical connections. Do they use like a garden hose connection? or like a sleave that slides over a tap?

    I would rather prefer to be able to produce my own RO instead of having to drive a considerable distance to the nearest pet store to purchase RO and then still find place to store it.

    Your help and assistance would be greatful.

    Cheers
    T
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Gesiggie

    Gesiggie Challenge accepted

    Joined:
    2 Sep 2011
    Posts:
    2,151
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Potchefstroom
    @Titus
    Where do you want to connect your unit?
    I have mine set up under my kitchen sink, connected to my cold water inlet under the sink.
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  4. ozzie

    ozzie

    Joined:
    19 Jun 2011
    Posts:
    95
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    durban
    same as mine should all come standard with that valve, try water boy his machines are wicked
     
  5. Titus

    Titus Thread Starter Reefneck!

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2007
    Posts:
    320
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Victory Park, JHB
    Aha, now I see. I was under the impression that it was a mobile unit that you screwed onto a garden tap using a typical garden connector.

    This does create another option. I just need to figure out where to put the unit then.

    Thanks for the prompt responses chaps.

    Cheers
    T
     
  6. Gesiggie

    Gesiggie Challenge accepted

    Joined:
    2 Sep 2011
    Posts:
    2,151
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Potchefstroom
    I just made some space under my sink in the cabinet, with the waste outlet dumping in the same pipe as my washing machine outlet next to the sink.I did have to extend the pipe to reach, but now everything is out of sight.

    Enjoy the re-arranging of your kitchen cabinets :)
     
  7. Daryl Norton

    Daryl Norton

    Joined:
    14 Aug 2013
    Posts:
    332
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth
    How much waste water do these units push out? Is it no concern or does it waste a lot of water?
     
  8. 459b

    459b Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    9,750
    Likes Received:
    789
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Depending on model, some push out alot of waste. Mine does about 2ltrs waste to every 1ltr RO. Adding a restrictor to the waste line does help in reducing the amount of waste water.
     
  9. Daryl Norton

    Daryl Norton

    Joined:
    14 Aug 2013
    Posts:
    332
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth
    Is it a constant thing or do you turn on unit until storage container is full and then switch off again?
     
  10. 459b

    459b Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    9,750
    Likes Received:
    789
    Location:
    Cape Town
    I only turn it on to fill up my drums, so its only on roughly one day a month.
     
  11. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,165
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    Centurion
    until drum is full... else it will flood...
     
  12. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,165
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    Centurion
    And it depends on how big your RO drum is and your consumption thereof. That will determine how many times a week you use it.
     
  13. Daryl Norton

    Daryl Norton

    Joined:
    14 Aug 2013
    Posts:
    332
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth
    Starting to understand now :blush:
     
  14. Dexter

    Dexter

    Joined:
    24 Feb 2014
    Posts:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    126
    Location:
    Randburg
    I have a float switch in my drum so I dont need to worry to turn it on or of......Its always on....If I use water the float switch open and fill the drum untill full...Then switches of.
     
  15. Pantoffel

    Pantoffel

    Joined:
    19 Feb 2014
    Posts:
    169
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Benoni AH
    Where did you get this??
     
  16. Dexter

    Dexter

    Joined:
    24 Feb 2014
    Posts:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    126
    Location:
    Randburg
    Bought it from a normal plumbers shop. Send me PM and I will send you pics. Will try and post them on the forum later.
     
  17. TheWaterboy

    TheWaterboy Sponsor

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    Durban

    how does the waste water switch off then?

    do you have a 4 way auto shut off valve aswell?
     
  18. Dexter

    Dexter

    Joined:
    24 Feb 2014
    Posts:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    126
    Location:
    Randburg
    No I havent.....if the valve closes the ro unit stops working. So then there is no waste water as well. That also stops
     
  19. TheWaterboy

    TheWaterboy Sponsor

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    Durban
    mmmmm.....you have to have one otherwise its impossible
    if the ro water has a valve on the end and you close it......
    it will feed backwards through membrane damaging membrane and constantly running to waste
    so either your unit has one on and you dont know where it is or what it looks like....
    or your waste pipe is connected to the drain and you dont realise its running 24/7

    dont get me wrong here if it sounds like im jumping all over you...
    just wanna help you incase the 4 way valve is not there and you wasting water

    does your unit perhaps have a high pressure switch built in then?
     
    Last edited: 29 Apr 2015
  20. Dexter

    Dexter

    Joined:
    24 Feb 2014
    Posts:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    126
    Location:
    Randburg
    Don't stress....I can guarantee you it's not running 24/7. it only runs when the water level in my tank drops. I know there is only waste when machine runs. I checked it before. I didn't trust the oaks that installed it for me. To me it works like your household toilette if you know what I mean.

    The only thing that is on the unit is the standard ro pump, but that doesnt run all the time. i unplug it from the wall if I fill the tanks then it just gravity feed.

    Maybe I should post pictures tonight when Im home. Maybe Im missing something somewere.
     
  21. Andre@ReefAquatics

    Andre@ReefAquatics Sponsor

    Joined:
    18 Dec 2012
    Posts:
    2,655
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Durbanville
    This is the components needed, to convert your RO to be fully automated:

    RO Unit Auto Shut off conversion Kit
    Convert your RO system to a fully automated system that will automatically fill your RO tank and shut it off when the desired what level is reached.

    Included in the kit are the following components:

    1) Pressure Reducing Value (PRV) inline from water supply, Reduce pressure build up into your machine.

    2) Auto Stop 4 Way Value – shuts off waste water flow

    3) Auto Stop Float Valve – Shuts off RO supply to your RO tank when full.



    Thanks it, NO MORE turning on taps, forgetting to turn it off and waking up to nasty wasted RO water on the floor.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - unit connections Forum Date
[wtd] RO unit wanted Wanted 26 Nov 2016
[wtd] Broken or unused led unit Wanted 21 Nov 2016
[wtd] R.O. Unit Wanted 29 Oct 2016
[wtd] ATI 6 or 8 bulb 39w unit Wanted 17 Oct 2016
RO unit waste water used for freshwater aquarium? General Discussions and Advice 7 Oct 2016
Decent 24w 2 bulb t5 unit? Lighting 5 Oct 2016
[wtd] Complete calcium reactor unit will all bells and whistles Wanted 22 Sep 2016