RO unit and top up help please.

Discussion in 'Anything DIY Related' started by christiaan, 29 Apr 2010.

  1. christiaan

    christiaan

    Joined:
    6 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    513
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Pretoria
    Hi Guys

    I'm in the process of setting up a new tank and I have a top up unit and a ro machine, what i need to know from you gurus is how to plumb the whole thing so that the RO cuts of once the RO resivoir is full enough and how it should turn buck on when its getting low - I was thinking toilet float? Will this work or is there a better way? I remember seeing a thread on this before but can't seem to find it. . .

    Thanks
    :peroni:
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    Hi Christiaan! PM The Waterboy, he has some sort of a cut out switch for the RO units.
     
  4. christiaan

    christiaan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    513
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Pretoria
    Will do - been reading up on it and it seems that many tank wipeouts have been caused this way?
     
  5. chikaboo

    chikaboo

    Joined:
    2 Jan 2009
    Posts:
    4,980
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Newcastle - KZN
    Hey there christiaan please explain how this happened ... the wipeouts?
     
  6. Manic

    Manic Moderator

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    3,313
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Johannesburg, Edenvale
    If you connect your RO unit to your auto top up reservoir then if the auto top up fails in the on position you will continuously fill the tank with RO water.
     
  7. chikaboo

    chikaboo

    Joined:
    2 Jan 2009
    Posts:
    4,980
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Newcastle - KZN
    Sorry guys should have been more specific ... with respect to the toilet float as mine's running well so far and with due respect to our toilets in our home we moved in in '78 and till now NEVER replaced toilet cistern floats ..... I got a converter made up and plumbed my R/O unit directly to my 2 sumps return chambers and never had trouble with water short....
     
  8. christiaan

    christiaan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    513
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Pretoria
    I guess they just need to be nstalled properly - I've had a wipeout due to power and let me tell you - once you've had a wipe - you do anything to avoid having another to the point where the paranoia becomes . . . well hectic! Lost over R15k worth of livestock before and I'm making this system as wipeout safe as possible. . .
     
  9. chikaboo

    chikaboo

    Joined:
    2 Jan 2009
    Posts:
    4,980
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Newcastle - KZN
    Thats why I'm thinking toilet float system is more safer than an electronic float switch!
     
  10. christiaan

    christiaan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    513
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Pretoria
    You're right I guess - will look into it - thanks
     
  11. Reef Maniac

    Reef Maniac MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    15 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,899
    Likes Received:
    112
    Location:
    Bloemfontein
    A ball-type float valve will work very well - just make sure that the arm connecting the valve with the ball is plastic, and not copper, brass or aluminium. Also, make sure that there are no copper or brass fittings inside the valve.

    Hennie

    PS. you don't need a "reservoir" tank - you can connect the RO outlet directly to the ball valve. It is still operating at house pressure, and will actually make the valve work better/safer. It will also protect your tank from having the tank water suddenly diluted should the valve fail. dilution will stil occur, but it will take a few hours to do any serious trouble, and if you're lucky (or install a high-water alarm) you will catch it in time...
     
  12. chikaboo

    chikaboo

    Joined:
    2 Jan 2009
    Posts:
    4,980
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Newcastle - KZN
    MMMMMM interesting I didn't bother checking inside the valve ... must do so tomorrow ... luckily I'm not big into corals as yet but must check it out tomorrow ... Thanks for advice and speaking about high water alarms ... Anyone uses a high/low temperature alarm and what other "alarms" can one look for in this hobby...
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - unit help please Forum Date
light unit help needed please Lighting 21 Jun 2012
Help please with RO unit! Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers 4 Jun 2011
DIY light unit: need help please Anything DIY Related 17 Aug 2010
help with ATI light unit Lighting 19 Dec 2014
RO unit Help! General Discussions and Advice 29 May 2014
TL550 Diy LED unit help Boyu TL450 and TL550 advice 23 Oct 2013
ro unit help Beginner Discussions 13 Oct 2013