RO Testing

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by maj, 11 Sep 2012.

  1. maj

    maj

    Joined:
    13 Oct 2009
    Posts:
    2,054
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Hi,

    I have a strange suspicion that my RO water is not right so i want it to be tested for all possible issues,who and where do i take it to?

    i do test and TDS is 0 and ammonia is zero.

    what else can i test for?or what LFS can assist in testing my RO water?
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. butcherman

    butcherman Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2009
    Posts:
    11,626
    Likes Received:
    280
    Location:
    Kempton Park
    what do you think its wrong with the RO? or rather what is it causing?
     
  4. Wes

    Wes

    Joined:
    24 Jan 2012
    Posts:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Randburg
    if TDS is zero what are you concenred about? or rather what can you be concenred about?
     
  5. butcherman

    butcherman Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2009
    Posts:
    11,626
    Likes Received:
    280
    Location:
    Kempton Park
    have you tested other things to make sure your tds meter is working?
     
  6. maj

    maj Thread Starter

    Joined:
    13 Oct 2009
    Posts:
    2,054
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Cape Town
    well i normally do my waterchanges with LFS bought RO water and then the tank is all good and i fill up the tank well enough and have RO water left to topup for about a month or so-been using LFS RO for W/C for last 4 months since i had my tank crash and stilln ot sure why it crashed:(

    i then let the tank cycle for 3 months and only used LFS RO water now

    BUT-for when i run out of LFS RO water i use my own RO water for TOPUPS ONLY and then i noticed i end up loosing a fish or two-always the sensitive fish.

    On inspection the fish corpse dont seem injured or red by the gills or any telltale signs.

    Bear in mind parameters in check or close enuff

    Nitrate 1ppm
    nitrite 0
    ammonia 0
    PH 8.1
    alk 9
    SG 1.025
    Ca 410
    Phos 0.4

    Redsea pro kits
     
  7. maj

    maj Thread Starter

    Joined:
    13 Oct 2009
    Posts:
    2,054
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Cape Town
    could ther be high amounts of irons or copper or some crap in ther even tho TDS reading is low
     
  8. Wes

    Wes

    Joined:
    24 Jan 2012
    Posts:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Randburg
    no those will be read by the TDS
     
  9. maj

    maj Thread Starter

    Joined:
    13 Oct 2009
    Posts:
    2,054
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Cape Town
    what else could i test for?

    i cant see anything other than RO water being the factor
     
  10. carlosdeandrade

    carlosdeandrade

    Joined:
    24 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    8,230
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    North Riding, Jozi
  11. maj

    maj Thread Starter

    Joined:
    13 Oct 2009
    Posts:
    2,054
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Cape Town
    when using the LFs water i dont have any issues,its when i use my RO water for the topups after the LFS bought RO is finished-i find the problems.

    both My RO and LFS RO has zero between 0-3 TDS readings and no ammonia.

    so im sure mine is the problem but dont know how to test or check
     
  12. butcherman

    butcherman Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2009
    Posts:
    11,626
    Likes Received:
    280
    Location:
    Kempton Park
    if your TDS is 0 i think you need to start looking at other options, perhaps food or salt?
     
  13. maj

    maj Thread Starter

    Joined:
    13 Oct 2009
    Posts:
    2,054
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Cape Town
    This is really puzzling,i use aqua medic salt and ON flakes and frozens.

    change my carbon evry 6 weeks thats in a reactor

    have Orca cubes and Redsea NOPOX dosed 4ml a day
     
  14. Albert Terego

    Albert Terego

    Joined:
    19 May 2008
    Posts:
    599
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Randburg, Johannesburg
    Check the containers that you store the RO in - maybe they have been exposed to some type of toxin/detergent etc.
     
  15. maj

    maj Thread Starter

    Joined:
    13 Oct 2009
    Posts:
    2,054
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Could very well be tht,got home and my clown dead too,damnit
     
  16. Mac75

    Mac75

    Joined:
    9 Jul 2011
    Posts:
    446
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    19209km from Hawaii
    Is your tank open top? If so, do you perhaps have any air sanitizers etc in the room?
     
  17. maj

    maj Thread Starter

    Joined:
    13 Oct 2009
    Posts:
    2,054
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Cape Town
    is open top tank ,but the tank situated in a fish room so nothing really goes into the room.
    well damage done,lost many fish besides nemo,filefish,and two gobies.

    Seems like whatever it was,is out the system as the inmates all eating and seem fine now.

    ijust skimmed wet and ran lotsa carbon
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Testing Forum Date
testing of CO2 regulator Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers 7 Jun 2016
Testing kits+Refractometer ► Sponsor Request Forum 13 May 2015
[wtd] Calcium Testing Kit Wanted 12 May 2015
Testing Strips Question Water Parameters and Additives 9 Dec 2014
Testing Kits Water Parameters and Additives 3 Sep 2014
Calibrate your testing equipment. General Discussions and Advice 14 Aug 2013
Dosing and testing aftewards... Water Parameters and Additives 18 Feb 2013