Return pump packed up...

Discussion in 'Pumps and Waterflow' started by brentch, 21 Sep 2012.

  1. brentch

    brentch

    Joined:
    11 Jul 2011
    Posts:
    666
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    amanzimtexas
    Hi guys

    My return pump packed up today and i'm slightly worried about my inhabitants... Do I need to worry if I have all my other flow pumps working? I also have my skimmer going in the sump.

    And another thing... My current system was running at 2700LPH with a head of about 1.7m (the pump was a 4yr old Resun king 3). I was wondering if there is any merit in getting a stronger pump... Maybe 3000 to 5000LPH?


    My tank is 70cm x 70cm x 1.2m, with a sump of 35cm (water hight) x 45cm (W) x 1.1m(L). I have two 25mm durso style pipes (one with on siphon, and one with a siphon break) running from my overflow pipes back to the sump.

    Any advise is appreciated!
    Brent
     
  2. Guest




  3. irie ivan

    irie ivan MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    3,607
    Likes Received:
    373
    Location:
    Bracken
    If the in tank circulation is breaking the surface, you should be okey, as this will add oxygenation, but whether this will be enough during lights off, is entirely dependant on bioload. I would position one pump so as to splash a bit of water, lift the lights to avoid too much splashing onto them and keep the lighting on.

    No need to buy a bigger pump, unless you have a dsb in sump, in which cse I would advise four times that flow rate..... IF your overflow can handle that. With no DSB in sump, my advice would be to rather buy two replacement pumps ensuring that you always have a backup in the event of a pump failure...
     
  4. irie ivan

    irie ivan MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    3,607
    Likes Received:
    373
    Location:
    Bracken
    What is your bioload?
     
  5. Nemos Janitor

    Nemos Janitor

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    8,386
    Likes Received:
    287
    Location:
    Joe's Mountain
    Do you have a DSB?
     
  6. irie ivan

    irie ivan MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    3,607
    Likes Received:
    373
    Location:
    Bracken
    In Tank? Very valid point!
     
  7. OP
    brentch

    brentch

    Joined:
    11 Jul 2011
    Posts:
    666
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    amanzimtexas
    Will do, thanks!



    I have a remote DSB, plumbed to the sump, so it has its own flow... I also have an in sump dsb, but I am planning on removing that soon anyway (it's too small). I think i'll go with a moderately stronger pump, maybe 5000l and remove my in sump DSB as soon as my other one has seeded properly. What do you think?

    My Dad said the exact same thing!


    Lots of corals, specially because I have both zoanthids, softies and SPS... Fish bioload is quite low, I have about 15 smallish fish.

    Should I run some fresh carbon tonight in case?
     
    Last edited: 21 Sep 2012

Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Return pump packed Forum Date
[wtd] Jebao/jecod dc return pump Wanted 27 Jun 2017
[wtd] 3000lph and higher return pumps Wanted 25 Jun 2017
[wtd] Jebao Return Pump Wanted 6 Apr 2017
Zetlight King Kong WIFI Pump-11 Return Pump Jungle Aquatics 19 Feb 2017
Jebao / Jecod DCP Sine Wave Return Pumps Jungle Aquatics 18 Feb 2017
[wtd] Return Pump Wanted 26 Jan 2017
[wtd] Return pump Wanted 23 Jan 2017