Resun 15000 Waver Wave Box

Discussion in 'Anything DIY Related' started by Manic, 18 Jun 2010.

  1. Manic

    Manic Moderator

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    3,313
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Johannesburg, Edenvale
    Hey Everyone,

    So there has been some talk on the forum about controlling a resun to produce a wave. I've read all the overseas forums on the circuit diagrams for tunze pumps but I can't find any for the resun. Does anyone know how to connect a 555 IC to control the resun to turn on and off at an adjustable interval. I know it can be done, I just need the circuit diagram.

    Here is some proof:

     
    Last edited by a moderator: 11 Apr 2016
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. brettb2020

    brettb2020

    Joined:
    1 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    715
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Amanzimtoti
    iv got the basic timing circuit using the 555. Just need to work on it a bit drive a load of about 2amps. Dont want to use a relay as you would have an annoying click from it as it turns on and off. Could use a solid state relay off the shelf but they pricey. There is also off the shelf timers you can buy.

    Now with this timing circuit you can adjust the wave frequency but not the size. To adjust the size you need vary the voltage. A decent supply with a voltage selector on it will work great. There are also pretty simple circuits out there to do this.

    Suhayl sounds like he has quite a nice setup using off the shelf stuff

    Il get some links and circuits up soon. My internet is down at the moment though. Lighty can also give us hand with this :)
    Posted via Mobile Device
     
  4. Manic

    Manic Thread Starter Moderator

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    3,313
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Johannesburg, Edenvale
    Well from my research the pump works best at a voltage below 18V and this the maximum voltage for the 555. It doesn't matter if one of the components is expensive (Solid State Relay) as all the other components are really cheap. People on other forums talk about using a MOSFET to turn the pump on and off. Here is the only diagram I could find:

    [​IMG]
    http://www.electro-tech-online.com/...tle-help-understanding-555-timer-circuit.html
     
  5. Singularity

    Singularity Hmmm amper!

    Joined:
    3 Apr 2008
    Posts:
    2,496
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Potch/Centurion/Brooklyn
    why dont you pm the guy that posted the clip via youtube ?
     
  6. Adee

    Adee

    Joined:
    5 Aug 2009
    Posts:
    1,777
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Weltevredenpark - JHB
    that's some hectic wave-making.
     
  7. lIghty

    lIghty

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    Manic, it quite easy to do, unfortunately I don't have time right now to design the circuit, but please drop me a PM this evening to remind me and I'll do it.
     
  8. Suhayl

    Suhayl

    Joined:
    24 Sep 2007
    Posts:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    18
    Someone Pm your number I can send some pics on my phone of the power supply and timing unit. Than you can dowload here.
     
  9. Jaak

    Jaak

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2008
    Posts:
    2,421
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Tagging along.
     
  10. Suhayl

    Suhayl

    Joined:
    24 Sep 2007
    Posts:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    18
    Ok I got mine from Chituchak in Bangkok. This is the largest pet and fish, equipment market of its kind in the world. After been to many shops I spotted a 3m tank with waveboxes. After making friends with the guy he organised me the power supply and timing unit. Than also had custom made black cast acryllic waveboxes. After checking more shops around there I had a look at another tank with waveboxes. His had magnet mounts for the boxes. His power supply seem to be better with a digital timing unit and he says can handle up to 4 pumps. The world famous reefkeeper Chingchai reffered me to Chituchak after I visited his tank.
     
  11. chikaboo

    chikaboo

    Joined:
    2 Jan 2009
    Posts:
    4,980
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Newcastle - KZN
    PM sent!
     
  12. chikaboo

    chikaboo

    Joined:
    2 Jan 2009
    Posts:
    4,980
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Newcastle - KZN
    Here you guys go ... for Suhayl
    [​IMG]
     
  13. Suhayl

    Suhayl

    Joined:
    24 Sep 2007
    Posts:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    18
    Thanks Chickaboo. As you can see its a simple setup. The box wont be also too diificult to make. For a wave box to work very well your tank must be at least 2m long and 60cm to 80cm wide, That way you can achieve a double wave. Also your tank has to be really strong built otherwise it will pop.
     
  14. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,990
    Likes Received:
    782
    Very important to take note of that, we have had one or two tanks that I know of that have popped after putting waveboxes in them.
     
  15. lIghty

    lIghty

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    Nice Suhayl, id there any reason you didnt just use the original PSU?

    What sort of cycle times are you using? I would guess about 500ms?
    Posted via Mobile Device
     
  16. Suhayl

    Suhayl

    Joined:
    24 Sep 2007
    Posts:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    18
    The orignal psu crap. This much more better, you can control the speed of the pump as well as time the pump. I think I had it at 0,3ms when running the 2 waveboxes to get the right wave. Every tank has its own resonant frequency to you would have to take time to dial in.
     
  17. lIghty

    lIghty

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    Crap? please explain? There is nothing wrong with it, it does exactly what is ment to do.

    This circuit can be used in place of the Resun controller with the original PSU. There are 2 VR in the circuit, coarse and fine tune the timing.

     
    Last edited: 19 Jun 2010
  18. brettb2020

    brettb2020

    Joined:
    1 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    715
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Amanzimtoti
    i would go for that circuit.
     
  19. Manic

    Manic Thread Starter Moderator

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    3,313
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Johannesburg, Edenvale
    The diagram above confuses me though. What is the point of all the capacitors on the left and where exactly is the input into the 555 IC.
     
  20. Manic

    Manic Thread Starter Moderator

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    3,313
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Johannesburg, Edenvale
    I'm busy building a model on some program I downloaded. Lets see how it goes
     
  21. Manic

    Manic Thread Starter Moderator

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    3,313
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Johannesburg, Edenvale
    Still working on the circuit but this is what I am getting so far:

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 20 Jun 2010
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Resun 15000 Waver Forum Date
[wtd] Resun Waver 15000a Controller Wanted 4 Feb 2015
Resun wave maker waver-15000 Wanted 27 Jul 2010
resun 15000 waver Wanted 16 Jun 2010
Resun Waver-15000 Pumps and Waterflow 4 Jan 2008
[wtd] Resun Wavemaker 15000 pumps Wanted 11 Feb 2013
Wanted: 24V Power Supply For Resun 15000 Pumps and Waterflow 24 Mar 2011
Resun sp 3800l return pump General Discussions and Advice 8 May 2016