Replacing Existing Sump with New Sump

Discussion in 'Biological/Natural Filtration and Deep Sand Beds' started by theoholder346, 1 Aug 2013.

  1. theoholder346

    theoholder346

    Joined:
    28 Nov 2012
    Posts:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kempton Park
    I need some advice from the guru club here on MASA.

    I want to replace my current Sump with a new bigger sump.
    Would there be any precautions when replacing the old sump with the new or can I just pull out the old sump and replace it with the new sump?

    Old sump does not have DSB, but only a refuse with live rock and some macros. There is no sand in the current sump.

    Sump is housing skimmer, heaters, auto top up and carbon reactor.

    Thanks
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. 459b

    459b Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    9,750
    Likes Received:
    789
    Location:
    Cape Town
    If there's no dsb then it will be fine to take out old and replace with new.
    Just don't do what I did and make,sure new plumbing fits in perfectly.
     
  4. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,164
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    Centurion
    And have enough new water available to fill the new sump.

    As long as you keep the live rock in tubes covered in water during the sump swap, it would be OK
     
  5. Normandp1

    Normandp1

    Joined:
    11 Dec 2011
    Posts:
    602
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Bloemfontein
    Sorry to ask a question on yout post. And if you have a dsb,can you scoop about 20cm of the old 1 and frow slowly over wash playsand?
     
  6. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,164
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    Centurion
    You can move a DSB.
    Calculate first how much extra sand is needed. Get it and wash it properly before the move.

    Then scoop the sand off in 3 layers. First 5cm layer into one tub, next into another, and last bit into the a third. Keep the sand wet.

    Replace the sand back in the original order, bottom layer first,then middle and lastly the top. Add new sand in handfulls in between the bottom 2 layers as you replace them

    Switch off your circulation for a day, rather pump directly back to first chamber so things can settle.

    Siphon top layer clean, then you can put put the return pipe back to the display.
    Add some bacteria in a bottle.

    Not ideal, but it does work and the DSB bounces back in no time. I done it.
     
  7. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,164
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    Centurion
    just do not waste time. Can get coffee or beer later. Do the job and get finished.
     
  8. Normandp1

    Normandp1

    Joined:
    11 Dec 2011
    Posts:
    602
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Bloemfontein
    Thanks Much appreciated
     
  9. theoholder346

    theoholder346 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    28 Nov 2012
    Posts:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kempton Park
    Thanks for all the replies. Will be changing sumps this weekend.

    Thanks again
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Replacing Existing Sump Forum Date
Replacing shaft of Hailea motor General Discussions and Advice 9 Dec 2014
Replacing purigen and activated carbon Chemical Filtration / Low Nutrient Systems - LNS 17 Apr 2014
Thermoelectric cooler, replacing the cooling fans Lighting 15 May 2013
How Do I tell If my RO Unit needs replacing? General Discussions and Advice 27 Apr 2013
Replacing Glass on tank General Discussions and Advice 19 Nov 2012
Replacing Juwel T5's Lighting 20 Aug 2012
Replacing return pump with a canister filter Beginner Discussions 28 Mar 2012