Replace Substrate

Discussion in 'Nano Tank advice' started by Sparky, 4 May 2008.

  1. Sparky

    Sparky

    Joined:
    29 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    Hi Guys

    Currently I have crushed coral as a substrate and I suspect it is just making a huge nitrate farm. Should I replace it with playsand? I have some spare from the new tank I am setting up. If yes, how should I go about doing this? Will it be safe to add my fish straight back?
     
  2. Guest




  3. Matt

    Matt

    Joined:
    5 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    1,907
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    JHB
    sparky: I removed the crushed coral during water changes (try do this gradually to avoid any major cycle.

    Once it's all out (this should take about 4 or 5 water chanes (i'd recommend doing it over about a week) you can just add the new substrate all at once. Make sure its washed thoroughly! You can seed the new substrate with some of the old too.

    That said I was silly and removed mine all in one go. Livestock was all fine! I would be cautious and do it slowly given the chance
     

Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Replace Substrate Forum Date
Replace half of my substrate with Aragonite? Beginner Discussions 18 May 2008
Jns replacement pump Protein Skimmers, Mechanical Filtration 18 Jun 2017
PSK600 Replacement Protein Skimmers, Mechanical Filtration 15 Jun 2017
RSM 130 D LIGHTING REPLACEMENT RSM Red Sea Max tanks 3 Jun 2017
Impeller Replacement for OTP-3000 (Skimmer)/ Reeftek TS3 Compatible skimmer pump replacement ► Sponsor Request Forum 22 May 2017
[wtd] PL-24W replacement bulbs Wanted 2 Feb 2017
RO system filter replacement General Discussions and Advice 16 Dec 2016