Replace Substrate

Discussion in 'Nano Tank advice' started by Sparky, 4 May 2008.

  1. Sparky

    Sparky

    Joined:
    29 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    Hi Guys

    Currently I have crushed coral as a substrate and I suspect it is just making a huge nitrate farm. Should I replace it with playsand? I have some spare from the new tank I am setting up. If yes, how should I go about doing this? Will it be safe to add my fish straight back?
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Matt

    Matt

    Joined:
    5 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    1,907
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    JHB
    sparky: I removed the crushed coral during water changes (try do this gradually to avoid any major cycle.

    Once it's all out (this should take about 4 or 5 water chanes (i'd recommend doing it over about a week) you can just add the new substrate all at once. Make sure its washed thoroughly! You can seed the new substrate with some of the old too.

    That said I was silly and removed mine all in one go. Livestock was all fine! I would be cautious and do it slowly given the chance
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Replace Substrate Forum Date
Replace half of my substrate with Aragonite? Beginner Discussions 18 May 2008
[wtd] PL-24W replacement bulbs Wanted 2 Feb 2017
RO system filter replacement General Discussions and Advice 16 Dec 2016
T5 Bulb replacements RSM Red Sea Max tanks 10 Sep 2016
[wtd] Replacement pump for xs160 Wanted 28 Jun 2016
Replace coarse bed with sea sand? General Discussions and Advice 26 Jun 2016
[wtd] Simmer replacement pump needed Wanted 19 Jun 2016