Replace Substrate

Discussion in 'Nano Tank advice' started by Sparky, 4 May 2008.

  1. Sparky

    Sparky

    Joined:
    29 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    Hi Guys

    Currently I have crushed coral as a substrate and I suspect it is just making a huge nitrate farm. Should I replace it with playsand? I have some spare from the new tank I am setting up. If yes, how should I go about doing this? Will it be safe to add my fish straight back?
     
  2. Guest




  3. Matt

    Matt

    Joined:
    5 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    1,975
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    JHB
    sparky: I removed the crushed coral during water changes (try do this gradually to avoid any major cycle.

    Once it's all out (this should take about 4 or 5 water chanes (i'd recommend doing it over about a week) you can just add the new substrate all at once. Make sure its washed thoroughly! You can seed the new substrate with some of the old too.

    That said I was silly and removed mine all in one go. Livestock was all fine! I would be cautious and do it slowly given the chance
     

Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Replace Substrate Forum Date
Replace half of my substrate with Aragonite? Beginner Discussions 18 May 2008
Silent Replacement Pump recommendations Boyu TL450 and TL550 advice 12 Nov 2018
RSS Royal Exclusiv Replaces the 80 Watt Speedy with 100 Watt Pump RSS Feeds 29 Aug 2018
Replacement for Damprid? Water Parameters and Additives 5 Aug 2018
Dry Food Replacement General Discussions and Advice 8 Feb 2018
Red Sea Max 250 - Replacement parts General Discussions and Advice 22 Jan 2018
Replacement pump ts1 reeftek Protein Skimmers, Mechanical Filtration 5 Dec 2017

Share This Page