1. Philip.Cloete

    Philip.Cloete

    Joined:
    21 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Secunda Mpumalanga
    Hi everyone

    I have a few questions regarding filtration so can you guys please assist me in making the right decision.

    My tank has been running about 2 years and I started to get red slime here and there so I am trying to tackle the prob.

    Heres what I did so far.
    Changed all ro unit filters
    I added a phos reactor.
    Tank has bio cubes running for plus minus 3 months.(1250ml)
    1 litre titanium cubes is on their way.
    I have about 50kg LR and 40kg baserock in display
    This weekend I removed the dsb beacuse I read it needs to be replaced yearly and the possibility of phosphates leaching from it exists so the big question I have is can I run my tank on bio cubes a phos reactor and the LR in the tank only.

    Can someone please explain why it can or why it cant be done.

    Thanks
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,163
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    Centurion
    huh? link please.

    I cannot understand that a filter that takes from 3 up to 6 months to be totally effective, should be replaced 6 months later?

    My main DSB is now a year old, and only now in a very interesting state with spaghetti worms etc...
    My remote DSB is 2 and a half years old. And if I disturb the sand, I got no green pea soup cloud coming out of it. The life I got in it is interesting.

    Having not enough flow over the DSB would result in excess settlement on the sand, and being called a nutrient sink.

    Anyway link please. Maybe I need to replace my DSB's
     
  4. Philip.Cloete

    Philip.Cloete Thread Starter

    Joined:
    21 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Secunda Mpumalanga
    @RiaanP I will look for the link. The thing I am getting at is the fact that I have red slime that came from the dsb (it was growing ontop of the sand) the flow over the sand bed was good so that was not the caus3 and when I did some reading I saw a few sites that state a dsb should be replaced and other sites stated that it should not.
    I dont want to go into the debate as to wheather or not it should be replaced or as some other peeps suggest that half of the bed should be replaced yearly. I feel that mine dod not work properly and it started (for some reason) to leach back nasties into the tank. So I decided to go without it.
    All I am asking is if I decided to go the non dsb route what equipment would be sufficient in doing so without causing a tank crash.
    I am not syarting this thread to start a debate I am only asking advice.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  5. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,163
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    Centurion
    If the cubes are running already for a couple of months, then the impact on your tank would be minimal. There will be, as the cubes needs to adjust to fill the void left by the removal of the cubes. But at least you do have a filtration system running. Depending on your bio-load and the amount of food you give per day.

    It would have been a big issue if you did remove the DSB and only on that same day added the cubes. Then you would run into issues.

    I would not give frozen foods for 2 weeks, maybe 3. Only flakes.
     
  6. Philip.Cloete

    Philip.Cloete Thread Starter

    Joined:
    21 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Secunda Mpumalanga
    Thanks yes I dont have a huge bio load compared to tank size.
    I got some microbe lift some more cubes and new test kits on order so I will just keep a close eye on the params I also have some cheatamorpha in the sump.
    But can a tank run on only cubes and phos reactor whats going to convett the amonia and nitrites beacuse cubes only work for nitrates.
     
  7. Philip.Cloete

    Philip.Cloete Thread Starter

    Joined:
    21 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Secunda Mpumalanga
    Bump

    Anybody running tank without dsb
     
  8. Zandy

    Zandy

    Joined:
    10 Oct 2012
    Posts:
    2,504
    Likes Received:
    10
    I am and have no issues at all
     
  9. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    Hi,

    i dont run any of my tanks with a DSB.
    With the LR, Gravel in the DT there is enough place for bacteria to grow, also these days there are plenty bacterial suppliments that are affordable and effective, stability and prodibio to name a few.

    a good skimmer and nutrient export will help alot.

    there are many that run this way, @carlosdeandrade, @butcherman , @Toolboysa , @459b and @MistaOrange and @the fish
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  10. 459b

    459b Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    9,748
    Likes Received:
    789
    Location:
    Cape Town
    I recently removed my DSB
    Tank filtration now consists of filter sock, decent skimmer, bio-cubes, phosphate reactor and a bag of carbon.
    Tank is running alot better since removing the dsb
     
  11. Philip.Cloete

    Philip.Cloete Thread Starter

    Joined:
    21 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Secunda Mpumalanga
    Thanks @459b and @dallasg I will look through the threads of those guys. Shew...I thought I made a huge mistake removing it it just started to pss me off. But I must also include that it was a bad choice to take quick steps like that beacuse they normally end up in disaster. Anyway I think and hope I have everything in place so will just keep an eye on params and also keep a few buckets of nsw nearby
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  12. MistaOrange

    MistaOrange

    Joined:
    20 Jan 2010
    Posts:
    7,756
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Somewhere in Cape Town
    Agreed... I just have cubes, skimmer & carbon in the sump & that has been running awesome. Didn't bother with a dsb IMO a waste of space.;)
     
  13. carlosdeandrade

    carlosdeandrade

    Joined:
    24 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    8,230
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    North Riding, Jozi
    Yip, simple filtration here too. Why not come visit and bring your sister Theresa, I did promise her that she could come see my tank.
     
    Last edited: 26 Aug 2013
  14. the fish

    the fish

    Joined:
    23 May 2012
    Posts:
    2,074
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Florida Hills Jhb
    yip. also not using a dsb. have enough LR iin DT for my filtration and skimming 5x more my tank volume. also adding stability and prime and vibrance
     
  15. Gummi Bear

    Gummi Bear

    Joined:
    14 May 2010
    Posts:
    383
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South Africa, JHB, Mayfair West
    Hi, in regards to this thread has anyone have ill effects after removing their DSB.
    what are the noticeable changes after removing the DSB.
    Thanks
     
  16. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,163
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    Centurion
    without another filtration method in place and matured
    Heavy stocked tank
    Lots of food.

    Removing DSB Saturday quickly before the rugby game.

    you will have problems.
     
  17. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    no ill effects, i started dosing prodibio a fw days before, made sure my husbandry was kept up and yanked it out in one morning.

    you will need to suppliment the biological filtering after removing it, both stability and prodibio do that and then for nutrient export there are plenty solutions, bio-cubes and vodka/vinegar
     
  18. 459b

    459b Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    9,748
    Likes Received:
    789
    Location:
    Cape Town
    I removed mine and slightly increased my biocubes .
    No I'll effects at all
     
  19. Gummi Bear

    Gummi Bear

    Joined:
    14 May 2010
    Posts:
    383
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South Africa, JHB, Mayfair West
    After removing your DSB did you notice a change in the Tank, that is less nutrient's and phosphates
     
  20. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    yes, and more space, and less worry
    i last used a dsb in 2010
     
  21. 459b

    459b Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    9,748
    Likes Received:
    789
    Location:
    Cape Town
    All I noticed was cleaner water
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - removing Forum Date
Removing silicone from glass Anything DIY Related 29 Nov 2015
Removing divider from sump General Discussions and Advice 17 Sep 2015
Removing/disassembling glass panels General Discussions and Advice 7 Sep 2014
Aiptasia - Removing methods General Discussions and Advice 27 Jul 2014
Removing a sump divider General Discussions and Advice 28 Jun 2014
Removing glass stains General Discussions and Advice 13 Apr 2014
Heat-loss when removing canopy General Discussions and Advice 12 Mar 2014