Reeftek TS3 Operation

Discussion in 'Protein Skimmers, Mechanical Filtration' started by scubaninja, 6 Dec 2009.

  1. scubaninja

    scubaninja

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    6,739
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Durban
    Hi guys, been having a bit of a problem with my TS3 for a while now and i have tried what i could think of to change it but to no avail. here's my issue:
    the skimmer when i first got it (2nd hand) i remember the entire main chamber of the skimmer full white with tiny bubbles, so in effect, skimming the best. lately, for a couple of weeks i've been getting terrible skimming in comparison. The chamber is only half full and even then the bubbles are a bit bigger than i remember, hence being less efficient. At the moment is there is next to nothing in terms of bioload in the tank as i've just re-set up, but that still doesnt excuse the lack of bubbles in the main chamber. i've re-cleaned everything, the pump, stripped it and cleaned it, the chamber and all the pipes themselves, basically got it back to almost new (as new as second hand stuff can be). I do know how to adjust the level in the skimmer ( the black pipe duh!) and i've varied how deep the actual skimmer sits in the water itself. Trying to get it to skim at 100% again to no avail. It has in some cases skimmed at almost 100% for a minute or two after i've moved or changed something and then goes back to normal uselessness. I've made sure the air hose wasnt blocked, i've checked to see if maybe the intake to the pump was blocked. nothing. So now i'm stuck. Besides all the things i've already checked and tried, what do you guys think? Think its possibly just the pump wearing down with use?
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Sentari

    Sentari

    Joined:
    15 May 2009
    Posts:
    2,084
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Weltevreden Park, Johannesburg
    Hmmm... I see youve said youve checked the pump and air intake.

    Have you checked the ventrui?

    Otherwise i have no idea. Pics to help us see?
     
  4. Jurgs

    Jurgs

    Joined:
    26 May 2009
    Posts:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Benoni
    good point scubaninja, got the exact same thing happening with my TS3. Bubbles only start from about half way up the chamber. although still getting pretty good skimmate..
    tagging along for this one.
     
  5. Junz

    Junz

    Joined:
    19 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    899
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Rustenburg

    Same here.... but i still get some really black thick skimmate every few day.

    how thick is your air pipe going into your skimmer pump ?
    are you using the new pin wheel impellors .... they do a much better job in air mixing.
     
  6. Jurgs

    Jurgs

    Joined:
    26 May 2009
    Posts:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Benoni
    Is it something like this where you can see the bubbles only starting where the pump return is in the chamber?

    [​IMG]
     
  7. scubaninja

    scubaninja Thread Starter

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    6,739
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Durban
    mine looks like that jurgs.
    checked that sentari :)
    junz the air pipe is the standard one, i believe there is a mod though that you can increase the diammeter of the pipe and pull in more air but have less head height? I am not syre which impellor the pump has, i always get confused about which is which with them. But if i dont have the pinwheel i guess i could upgrade, but not if there isnt gonna be a noticeable difference as this thing used to skim a lot better in the past
     
  8. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Try connecting a pond pump to the air-inlets Scuba! ;) LOL! This MOD REALLY works!

    To try and resolve your "issue" - have you tried lifting the skimmer a little higher out of the water?
    Another thing - is your inner water level adjuster set at maximum (the outlet pipe?)?
     
  9. scubaninja

    scubaninja Thread Starter

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    6,739
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Durban
    LOL @ the pond pump :p i have fiddled with the water heights to varying levels and found this level 'best' at the current time, no my inner(as in in the chamber?) level isnt quite set at maximum cause then the skimmate i do get is way to watery
     
  10. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Sorry - let me correct myself - Pond "AIR pump" ;)
     
  11. scubaninja

    scubaninja Thread Starter

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    6,739
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Durban
    i figured mate :)
     
  12. Nemos Janitor

    Nemos Janitor

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    8,384
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Joe's Mountain
    Not sure if this applies in your case but might be worth checking. On the older Aqua medic skimmers the impeller/wheel used to stick on the magnet part of the impeller and cause it to turn backwards. There is a big diff when it turns the correct way. To fix was a impeller replacement. Not sure if the impellers you have are the solid type or the type where the wheel has play on the magnet bit. About 1/8 turn. If it is the later then check that it does not stick and become solid.

    You might also want to try and switch the pumps on and off a few times. each time checking the performance. This sometimes changes the direction the pumps turn. Some stators (pump motor housing) have a flapper that prevents this. Check it is not stuck if it has one.

    Hope this helps a little. This is the direction I would be looking in.
     
  13. lIghty

    lIghty

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    IMO, I think the impeller magnet could loose some of its strenth over time, but probably maybe something we could only notice after years or something.

    You will find most times its some sort of restriction that will cause the pump to loose power, on a skimmer pump its more than likely the venturi or orifice that clogs up.
     
  14. scubaninja

    scubaninja Thread Starter

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    6,739
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Durban
    Just wanted to bring this thread back up as I think I may have found a solution. I've been messing around with the skimming of my TS3 in a plastic bin. I started with the water level just above the pump and turned the pump on. I topped the container up with more salt water to bring it back to the level I started with and let the skimmer run. The chamber was COMPLETELY full of white bubbles. So much, that even with the output pipe pushed up to raise the level in the neck of the cup, the bubbles were coming out of the pipe. I let it run like that for a day and then poured a lot more water in and adjusted the output pipe. It skimmed alright for a while but i noticed that the bubble production was drastically lower.

    So my thoughts are this: the pump has to pull air in through the hose at atmospheric pressure, which is lower than the pressure at the water intake of the pump(under whatever depth of water it is). So the bernoulli effect creating the low pressure to pull the air down into the pump is weakened, meaning less air pulling through the nozzle. So raising the skimmer(the depth in the water) should help in bubble production(this not taking into account the type/wear of the impeller or any possible things clogging the intake), which I have come to see as a possible solution from these tests.
     
  15. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,990
    Likes Received:
    782
    Only took you 3 years, well done. :thumbup:
     
  16. zak

    zak

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2011
    Posts:
    772
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    The water level in my skimmer chamber is pretty high. What i've done is connect the skimmers air intake to a piece of airline tube(the one used for airstones), this tube then leads to fresh air outside the sump cabinet. This piece of airline tube(about a metre long) really does the trick, i have to clean out my skimmer cup every 2-3 days, it stinks up the place!!
     
  17. scubaninja

    scubaninja Thread Starter

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    6,739
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Durban
    Well i only got my skimmer back recently so naaaa:tt2:
    By increasing the length of the air inlet, you are increasing the drag on the air inside the tube which reduces efficiency. Your skimmer should skim the same with your skimmer taking air from inside your cabinet using a shorter tube.
     
  18. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,163
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    Centurion
    Tried to increase the diameter of the air inlet.

    I got a 20mm pipe on my Aquamedic short. So it can breath easily.
     
  19. the fish

    the fish

    Joined:
    23 May 2012
    Posts:
    2,074
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Florida Hills Jhb
    @RiaanP can this be done on the TS2 as well? not original pump though. has 2500ltr/h pump on with a small air inlet on. sorry for the hijack
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  20. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,163
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    Centurion
    I believe it can be done on any skimmer.

    Where the airline comes out of the venturi, pull it off. Use another similar size pipe 20mm max piece. A 2L cooldrink bottle cap. Drill hole in it to fit that short piece. Use electrical conduit pipe and fit the cap over it. Or use any other suitable cap do work as a female end-cap. Conduit long enough to stick out of the water. It could increase the noise due to having no silencer on it, if sounds like a stuck ventilator. Inside a cabinet that should / could be OK. I got my air intake extended with a 5m flexible hose to outside the room. pulling air from my fishroom.

    So only the short 20mm piece can restrict airflow
     
    Last edited: 5 Jun 2013
  21. the fish

    the fish

    Joined:
    23 May 2012
    Posts:
    2,074
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Florida Hills Jhb
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Reeftek Operation Forum Date
[wtd] ts2 or ts3 reeftek skimmer Wanted 2 Aug 2016
[wtd] reeftek 2000 pump needed Wanted 6 Jun 2016
Stock @ cost - Seachem, red sea, Reeftek, ATI and more Sponsor Specials 24 May 2016
Reeftek TS 3 Water level Protein Skimmers, Mechanical Filtration 13 Nov 2015
[wtd] Reeftek TS1 Skimmer Pump Wanted 23 Aug 2015
Urgent help needed Reeftek TS3 Impellor broken Urgent Help Needed 17 Aug 2015
Anyone Modded a Reeftek TS1,2 or 3? Protein Skimmers, Mechanical Filtration 7 Jul 2015