reeftek ts1

Discussion in 'Protein Skimmers, Mechanical Filtration' started by Triven, 9 Dec 2009.

  1. Triven

    Triven

    Joined:
    22 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    437
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Durban
    hey all i have just purchased a ts1 skimmer and i need some advice which is the best way to setup to get max of the skimmer
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. chikaboo

    chikaboo

    Joined:
    2 Jan 2009
    Posts:
    4,980
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Newcastle - KZN
    Hey there triven - you got a pic to post of it - will be easier to explain if we got a pic of your skimmer then we can refer directly to what you must look out for....
     
  4. Manic

    Manic Moderator

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    3,313
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Johannesburg, Edenvale
    enkamat, its the way to go...
     
  5. Triven

    Triven Thread Starter

    Joined:
    22 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    437
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Durban
    okey will do so i a bit,its foaming up to the top of the cup but nothing in the cup its self,my tank is running for a year now and i had a via aqua sk 200 before this...the ts1 is now on from sunday i hoped for this skimmer to be much better than my old one
     
  6. Neil H

    Neil H Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    11 May 2008
    Posts:
    2,795
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    JHB
    Triven,

    i believe you do in fact have a better skimmer.....

    two things to watch out for ..... The TS range (and many others) need to be run in, this can take anything from a day or 2 to a week..... i have yet to find out why a plastic thing needs running in, but it does! Unfortunately until it is run in, fine tuning it is a waste of time !

    You can adjust what i refer to as the bubble popping level by moving the outlet pipe up or down accordingly. you may find however that the skimmer sits too deep inside the tank in which case in order to refine the skimming you have to build a stand for the skimmer, in most cases we use egg crate for this stand ..... hope that helps !
     
  7. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,982
    Likes Received:
    777
    Nicely summed up :thumbup1:

    Give it a couple more days Triven, show us a pic of the skimmer in the sump if you can so we can see where the external water level is, I found that for my TS1 the ideal water level in the sump was about 3 or 4 cm's above the grey pipe that enters the skimmer from the pump.
     
  8. Jurgs

    Jurgs

    Joined:
    26 May 2009
    Posts:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Benoni
    HI Triven, I believe its my skimmer that i sold to you. yeah give it a couple of days and you will need to tweek it abit. what worked for me was lifiting it abit higher so the water level was around the reftek label.
     
  9. ziyaadb

    ziyaadb

    Joined:
    18 Jul 2007
    Posts:
    5,566
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    JHB-Lenzz
    In a nutshell:
    ALL skimmers need to be run in, the reason is because the skimmer needs to build up a bacteria film in the bubble chamber and once the film is in it starts skimming.
     
  10. Junz

    Junz

    Joined:
    19 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    899
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Rustenburg
    also get yourself the pin wheel impellor.... this will enhance the skimming performance.


    pm meif you need one...i have one lying around
     
  11. Triven

    Triven Thread Starter

    Joined:
    22 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    437
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Durban
    hey junz i sent u a pm thanks a lot
     
  12. Triven

    Triven Thread Starter

    Joined:
    22 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    437
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Durban
    junz pls mail me details cause my pc is giving me **** with vista my mail add is on da pm thanks
     
  13. Triven

    Triven Thread Starter

    Joined:
    22 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    437
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Durban
    a pic of my skimmer boys skimming like a dream a bit wild but i like
    [​IMG]
     
  14. chikaboo

    chikaboo

    Joined:
    2 Jan 2009
    Posts:
    4,980
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Newcastle - KZN
    Sjoe doing such a great job bud - thiis is after how long?
     
  15. Triven

    Triven Thread Starter

    Joined:
    22 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    437
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Durban
    once i got it to the correct setup abt a 1m after i got it it now wrks lyk a bom my tank is not heavly stocked so i clean da cup every 3 weeks
     
  16. mnd123

    mnd123

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    1,753
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Fourways Gardens
    Skimming a tad wet IMO
     
  17. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Yeah - also looks like you skimming slightly wet. But, this is not a problem as such - as long as you monitor your salinity.....

    In my humble opinion is this the "best way" to do water changes - let your skimmer remove the water FOR you (by skimming wet), and then just top up the lost water with salt water ;)
     
  18. Triven

    Triven Thread Starter

    Joined:
    22 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    437
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Durban
    how do i set my skimmer to skim dry some help pls cause i just got my skimmer 3m now
     
  19. FransSny

    FransSny

    Joined:
    16 Oct 2008
    Posts:
    5,697
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Hermanus
    Hi Triven

    if you adjust the "outlet" pipe up & down you will see the bubbles in the neck going higher / lower. Lower bubbles = dryer & visa versa.

    Is your skimmer standing on something ? By putting the skimmer on top of something (I use a addis lunchbox ) you will have more control over adjustments
     
  20. Triven

    Triven Thread Starter

    Joined:
    22 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    437
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Durban
    thanks will try n do so anyone with a ts1 and is a master in setting up some info pls
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - reeftek Forum Date
[wtd] ts2 or ts3 reeftek skimmer Wanted 2 Aug 2016
[wtd] reeftek 2000 pump needed Wanted 6 Jun 2016
Stock @ cost - Seachem, red sea, Reeftek, ATI and more Sponsor Specials 24 May 2016
Reeftek TS 3 Water level Protein Skimmers, Mechanical Filtration 13 Nov 2015
[wtd] Reeftek TS1 Skimmer Pump Wanted 23 Aug 2015
Urgent help needed Reeftek TS3 Impellor broken Urgent Help Needed 17 Aug 2015
Anyone Modded a Reeftek TS1,2 or 3? Protein Skimmers, Mechanical Filtration 7 Jul 2015