Reef Aquarium

Discussion in 'New Members' started by marna001, 1 Oct 2009.

1. marna001

marna001

Hi my name is Marna. I am quite new to the hobby therefor try to learn as much as i can. I hope to create a reef aquarium with different aspects such as corals, invertebrates, anemones and fish. How do you know if you anemones and corals are really happy and healthy?

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. crispin

crispin

hi marna:)
    welcome to masa its great to have you here. there is so much to learn in this hobby that you will feel like a noob all the time, but overtime you will gain lots of knowledge.

what sort of tank do you have or what sort of tank do you want? The more you plan the easier things are and its never worth simply doing stuff without knowing what it is that you are doing. Have a look through the new memebers sectiosn and threads and you will find that most of the common questions are answered but if you ahve any questions just fire away and we will do all we can to help you along.

to answer your first questions about how do you know if something is happy or not, is quite simply answered by the creatchure showing you. If its a corral they will have full pollop extension and if its a nennie they will be static in one place and also fully expanded for most of the day (they do close up at night though)

but before you go anywhere near an annenome in your tank there are lots of things you need to learn about as nennies are advanced reefing creatchures and can wipe your whole tank if you dont look after them properly. Normally we only put them into a mature tank and thats one thats been going for 9 months or so :)

but welcome to masa its great to have you here :)

4. marna001

marna001 Thread Starter