Red Sea Nitrate Pro Problems

Discussion in 'Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers' started by Labido, 7 Nov 2012.

1. Labido

Labido

Hi,

Never posted before on this forum, but I will start with a problem I'm having.

I'm not a marine aquarist, but I'm sure I will be in the future. I keep malawi cichlids which are almost as nice as marine, but a little easier to manage.

I like to monitor nitrates as I have well stocked tanks and I'm a bit of an analyst freek so I like to know accurate readings for my aquariums. A key parameter for my aquariums is nitrate. I've been using a Tetra kit for the past 6 months or so but I find it quite difficult to read the colour chart at times, so I bought a Red Sea Nitrate Pro kit. Although it is designed for marine water, it should still be accurate enough for fresh water from what I could make out (I did a comparison test between a salt water and fresh water standard solutions and they were very close).

Anyway, when I tried the new Red Sea kit, I got very low readings. I was expecting around 10-15ppm but got around 1ppm.
    So I prepared a standard 25ppm solution from potassium nitrate (twice, once with fresh water and once with marine water) and the readings were not good. The Red Sea kit gave a reading of 2ppm while the Tetra kit was 50ppm. The good news is my old test kit is over reading, so my nitrates are lower than expected, but the bad news is the Red Sea kit, which is renowned for being much more accurate and reliable, is off by a factor of 10.

I know nitrate test kits are notoriously unreliable, but I was expecting better from a reputable brand like this. At R375 for the kit I was hoping for better.

Anyone had experience with this that could advice me? I suspect the reagents may be to blame, but this will require an new reagent set to test my theory. I may pop around to my reputable LFS and get their help to test my reagents.

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Fanlie

Fanlie

snaaks